Now Will the Real MVP Please Stand Up?

Bleacher Report Senior Writer INovember 11, 2008

The NFL Most Valuable Player Award is a very prestigious one.

Last year, Tom Brady of the New England Patriots won it by throwing 50 touchdowns and leading the Patriots to a 16-0 record. After six or seven games, it was very clear who the MVP would be—Brady.

But this year, there is no clear-cut winner. It could be Kurt Warner, Clinton Portis, Drew Brees, or maybe even Adrian Peterson.

Arizona Cardinals quarterback Kurt Warner has had a phenomenal season, probably the most surprising and hidden performance this year. He is 238-for-337 (totaling a phenomenal 70.6 completion percentage), 2,760 yards, 19 touchdowns, and just six interceptions. Through nine games, Warner has had five 300-yard games and just one where he had more interceptions than touchdowns.

In a Monday night victory over San Francisco, Warner led a rally to win 29-24. In the game, Warner was 32-for-42 with 328 yards, three touchdowns, and no interceptions. He has a 106.4 quarterback rating, including a rating of 100 in five games.

Most importantly, he's led a Cardinals team, which has a shortage of talent, to a 6-3 record, atop the NFC West.

One could argue Warner has carved cupcake defenses. You could say that, but Warner has also done rather well against Dallas, Buffalo, Miami, Carolina, the Jets, and Washington. Combined in those games, he was 165-for-232, with over 1,900 yards, 13 touchdowns, and just six interceptions.

I think the MVP award should not only go to the guy who is performing very well, but is leading a team admirably.

*Cough cough* Kurt Warner!

It would be truly amazing if he can keep it up. He is 37 years old, making him one of the oldest for any position, especially quarterback. Warner has had an amazing career. He was an undrafted free agent from Northern Iowa and played with the Packers in 1994, the Iowa Barnstormers from 1995 to 1997, until finally sticking with the St. Louis Rams from 1998 to 2004.

In 2005, the Cards got him.

If he wins, it'd be his third NFL MVP award. In a recent article, James Williamson claimed Warner should be comeback player of the year.

I agree with James.

But I think he should also win Most Valuable Player Award. Despite the credit he's getting on B/R, he's not getting enough credit around the league. When people look at his statistics, they are shocked at how well he's doing.

He is never heard about around the league.

Not bad for a guy who wasn't even supposed to start.

As I stated previously, Portis, Brees, and even Peterson are in the running. However, Warner is the real Most Valuable Player. And my belief is that Warner worked much, much harder for this award. Warner had to overcome more than these guys. For Christ sake, Warner was a member of the Iowa Barnstormers for three seasons.

Portis is a Miami alum, Peterson is a Oklahoma alum, and Brees is a Purdue alum. Warner played for three seasons with the Barnstormers and is off to a good start for his third MVP, more than Portis, Peterson, and Brees.

Give it to the more deserving candidate.

We just did it in the presidential election, let's do it in the National Football League.

As James said, I hope our future can consist of men like Kurt Warner. Guys who overcame a lot of adversity and criticism to become great. Warner isn't on a watch like the Eli Mannings or Brady Quinns of the world. Yet he consistently delivers and gives his team a chance to win.

While Brees, Portis, and Peterson have had amazing seasons, they don't do nearly as much as Warner has. Brees has led the Saints to a 4-5 record, A.P. has led the Vikes to a 5-4 record and Portis has contributed very consistently, but he is not the whole piece to the 'Skins' puzzle.

Warner is working with a running back who came from Richmond University and his two receivers are coming off an offseason of contract issues with the team.

Give it to the deserving candidate.