2011 FIFA U-20 World Cup: News, Results, Schedule and More

Use your ← → (arrow) keys to browse more stories
2011 FIFA U-20 World Cup: News, Results, Schedule and More
Dave Sandford/Getty Images

The 2011 FIFA U-20 World Cup has been held every two years since 1977. Since the tournament began, only eight different countries have come away with victories—Argentina has the most with six titles.

The 2011 tournament is taking place in Colombia and extends from July 29th until August 20th.

Twenty-four teams qualify for the event with four coming from Asia, four from Africa, four from North/Central America, five from South America, one from Oceania and six from Europe.

Like the FIFA World Cup, the U-20 World Cup provides entry into the World Cup for the host nation without qualifying.

The 24 teams are divided up among six groups where the top two teams in each group automatically advance. The top three third-place teams also advance to the knockout stages of the event as well.

The teams will then play a single-elimination game all the way to the World Cup Final, just like the FIFA Men's and Women's World Cups.

Only nine teams are eliminated in the group stages.

Keep it locked to Bleacher Report's World Football page for all you up-to-date news and analysis.

Follow B/R on Facebook

Team StreamTM

World Football

Subscribe Now

By signing up for our newsletter, you agree to our Terms and Privacy Policy.

Thanks for signing up.