Little League World Series 2011: Daily Scores, Results and Schedule

Use your ← → (arrow) keys to browse more stories
Little League World Series 2011: Daily Scores, Results and Schedule
Drew Hallowell/Getty Images

The 2011 Little League World Series kicks off on August 18th and runs until August 28th in South Williamsport, Pennsylvania.

The event features the best 11, 12 and 13 year old baseball players in the world and in the end will feature the best team in the United States against the best International team.

The event was first held in 1947 and has been held annually since. When the event first started it featured only teams from the United States but since 1976 International teams have become a mainstay.

A total of 16 teams gain entry into the tournament, eight of which come from the United States and eight International teams. Prior to 2001, only eight teams were allowed into the event, but it has now expanded.

The format for this year's event has been changed slightly as all eight teams from the United States and all eight International teams will be grouped together. The format remains double elimination until the United States and International Championship games, which will be single elimination.

Historically, the United States' teams have been dominated by International sides, losing 23 of 35 match-ups.

The United States will be hoping to get back on track this year as they look to close the gap on the International sides. Chinese Taipei has won the event 17 times, the most of any country.

Follow MattFaulconer10 on Twitter

Follow B/R on Facebook