College Football: Ranking the 3 Best BCS Championship Teams of All Time

« Prev
1 of 6
Next »
Use your ← → (arrow) keys to browse the slideshow
College Football: Ranking the 3 Best BCS Championship Teams of All Time
Brian Bahr/Getty Images
The Texas Longhorns Won The Final BCS Championship Prior To The BCS Expansion In The 2006 Season

The argument over who is the best BCS Championship team in history has created conflicting opinions and ill feelings from one end of the country over the past few years.

Created in the 1998 season to settle who was the best team among the two top ranked squads in the final poll, there are actually two different eras of the BCS Championship competition.

One, from 1998 through the 2005 season, matched the two top ranked teams in one of the so-called "Big Four Bowls" on a rotating basis.

The first "BCS Championship Game" was actually just the Fiesta Bowl of the '98 season, matching Tennessee against Florida State.

The following year the Sugar Bowl was the setting for Virginia Tech and Florida State to compete for the BCS Championship. 

The 2000 season saw the Orange Bowl host Oklahoma and Florida State, and then 12 months later the nation was witness to the first Rose Bowl game to host the BCS title contest.

A full cycle later, after the 2005 season championship was settled between Texas and Southern California in the Rose Bowl, a new plan emerged concerning the host site.

In the following pages we will dig deeper into the BCS Championship Game and the three greatest teams to come out of this era.

Begin Slideshow »

Follow B/R on Facebook

College Football

Subscribe Now

By signing up for our newsletter, you agree to our Terms and Privacy Policy.

Thanks for signing up.