Boxing KO of the Day: Ramos vs. Shimoda
This past Saturday Rico Ramos and Akifumi Shimoda squared off in Atlantic City for the WBA featherweight title belt.
It was a competitive fight the whole way, but Shimoda had the clear advantage throughout. Though caused by a clash of heads in the fifth round, Ramos had a sizable gash above his right eye that leaked blood profusely.
Both in the sixth and seventh rounds, Shimoda was warned by the referee for low blows. These cheap shots were the fuel that Ramos needed.
Losing on all three judges’ scorecards, Ramos landed a nasty left hook to Shimoda’s temple that floored Shimoda with 26 seconds left in the seventh round. Shimoda tried to get back up but fell down to the canvas again as the referee tried to break his fall.
Seemingly headed to the corner for a break before the eighth round, the punch came out of nowhere. Ramos even surprised himself.
“I wasn’t looking for a knockout. I just knew that I had to move forward and carry the fight.”
That left hook may have been the best knockout punch of the year so far. It was Ramos’ 11th knockout victory of his career and the reason why he is still unbeaten.
What is the duplicate article?
Why is this article offensive?
Where is this article plagiarized from?
Why is this article poorly edited?