Will Power Claims Fifth Pole of the Season at Toronto

No NameAnalyst IJuly 9, 2011

The IZOD IndyCar Series hit the streets of Toronto today to qualify for Sunday's Honda Indy Toronto race.

Will Power did exactly what everyone thought he would: win the Pole Award for the event in Toronto. He won the race here last year and is the obvious favorite heading into the weekend. This is the fifth pole for Power this season.

The Firestone Fast Six consisted of Oriol Servia, Graham Rahal, Mike Conway, Dario Franchitti, Scott Dixon and Will Power.

Power has swept the pole in the five road/street course races this season and extended his streak to eight over two seasons. Dixon was the closest threat to him and he will start on the outside of row one. Row two will consist of Franchitti and Conway, while the third row belongs to Rahal and Servia.

Sebastien Bourdais, the 2004 Toronto race winner and a three-time pole sitter, will share row four with Ryan Hunter-Reay. Alex Tagliani and Ryan Briscoe round out the top 10 starters.

KV Racing seemed to struggle on the streets, with Tony Kanaan starting in 16th position—the best of the three green cars. EJ Viso will start in 18th and Takuma Sato will roll off 19th.

Toronto native James Hinchcliffe missed on advancing to the second round of qualifying by 0.0250 of a second and will start in 13th position.

Sunday's 85 lap race on the 1.755 mile, 11 turn circuit is set to begin at 2 pm.