NHL Realignment: Detroit Red Wings and Which of the 4 Divisions They Land In

« Prev
1 of 35
Next »
Use your ← → (arrow) keys to browse the slideshow
NHL Realignment: Detroit Red Wings and Which of the 4 Divisions They Land In
Ezra Shaw/Getty Images
Depending on how long Nick Lidstrom stays he could be a member of the Eastern Conference

It might be the most talked about subject over the next year in the NHL—division realignment.

Many ideas have been thrown around. Some think the same division structure should be kept with the Detroit Red Wings, Columbus Blue Jackets or Nashville Predators moving east, while others think a North/South Conference structure is better suited for the NHL.

The current structure of the NHL's divisions features six, five team divisions. The teams play six games against their division rivals, four games against conference rivals, and 18 games against teams of the opposite conference.

The best solution for the NHL is to keep the Eastern and Western Conferences, but to cut themselves down to four divisions.

The four divisions would play five games against other teams in their division, three games against the other division in their conference, and five to seven extra games against rivals within their conference.

Against the opposite conference, the teams would play each team once, plus six extra inter-conference rival games. Original Six teams will play each other twice a season. So four of Detroit and the Chicago Blackhawks' six inter-conference rival games would be against New York Rangers, Boston Bruins, Toronto Maple Leafs and Montreal Canadiens.

This system may sound complicated, but the following slideshow should give you a relatively good idea of how the system would work.

Begin Slideshow »

Follow B/R on Facebook


Subscribe Now

By signing up for our newsletter, you agree to our Terms and Privacy Policy.

Thanks for signing up.