Winnipeg in Talks for Thrashers; What Does in Mean for the NHL in 11-12

Use your ← → (arrow) keys to browse more stories
Winnipeg in Talks for Thrashers; What Does in Mean for the NHL in 11-12
Glenn Cratty/Getty Images

Reports are circulating around Canada that True North Sports & Entertainment are in talks to purchase and then move the Atlanta Thrashers to Winnipeg.  When this happens, the NHL will have to look at divisional re-alignment before they even look at releasing the 11-12 schedule.  I believe this is what the new NHL will look like;

Northwest Division: Vancouver, Calgary, Edmonton, Colorado and Winnipeg.

Pacific Division: San Jose, Anaheim, Los Angeles, Phoenix and Dallas

Central Division: Chicago, Minnesota, St. Louis, Columbus and Nashville


Northeast Division: Detroit, Toronto, Buffalo, Ottawa and Montreal

Southeast Division: Washington, Carolina, Florida, Tampa Bay and Pittsburgh

Atlantic Division: Islanders, Rangers, Boston, New Jersey and Philadelphia

Can you imagine the new Southeast Division with Washington, Tampa Bay and Pittsburgh in it? Gary Bettman would be smiling all the way to the bank. Detroit is moving to the Eastern Conference because they have a agreement with the NHL that they would be the next team to go change conferences in the event of any divisional re-alignment

Load More Stories

Follow B/R on Facebook

Out of Bounds

College Football

Subscribe Now

We will never share your email address

Thanks for signing up.