NHL Lady Byng Finalists: Nice Guys Finish First

« Prev
1 of 5
Next »
Use your ← → (arrow) keys to browse the slideshow
NHL Lady Byng Finalists: Nice Guys Finish First
Silvia Pecota/Getty Images

The Lady Byng Memorial Trophy is awarded each year to the NHL "player adjudged to have exhibited the best type of sportsmanship and gentlemanly conduct combined with a high standard of playing ability."

The Lady Byng Trophy has been awarded every year since 1925 when it was donated by the wife of former Governor General of Canada, Vimy Ridge. Marie Evelyn Moreton (Lady Byng) was such a fan of the sport of hockey that she decided to donate her own trophy to the sport.

She first awarded the trophy to Frank Nighbor of the Ottawa Senators and it has since been held by hockey greats such as Frank Boucher (seven times), Red Kelly (four, and the last defenseman to win), Wayne Gretzky (five), Pavel Datsyuk (four) and most recently, Martin St. Louis.

St. Louis will take a run at a repeat this year against Red Wing legend Nicklas Lidstrom and Dallas Stars hopeful, Loui Eriksson.

Begin Slideshow »

Follow B/R on Facebook