2011 NHL Awards: Calder Trophy Finalists

« Prev
1 of 5
Next »
Use your ← → (arrow) keys to browse the slideshow
2011 NHL Awards: Calder Trophy Finalists
Silvia Pecota/Getty Images

Every year, the NHL Awards takes place with an extravagant party with tons of entertainment and celebration, but what the fans really care about is the awards and the players that win them.

The Calder Memorial Trophy is given out every year to the player selected as the most proficient in his first year of competition in the National Hockey League. The trophy is named after the first NHL President, Frank Calder, who held the position from the league's inception in 1917 until his death in 1943.

The Rookie of the Year has been handed out since 1932, but the Calder Trophy (Rookie of the Year was renamed the Calder Trophy after Frank Calder's death in 1943) has been handed out since 1943 since its first winner, Gaye Stewart of the Toronto Maple Leafs.

Since then, the trophy has been held in the hands of greats such as Terry Sawchuck, Bobby Orr, Mario Lemieux, Alexander Ovechkin and most recently, Buffalo Sabres defenseman Tyler Myers.

This is just a handful of names that includes many Hall of Famers.

This year, there are three fantastic young players who've made the cut and have begun to make a name for themselves in the NHL: Logan Couture of the San Jose Sharks, Jeff Skinner of the Carolina Hurricanes and Michael Grabner of the New York Islanders.

Begin Slideshow »

Follow B/R on Facebook


Subscribe Now

By signing up for our newsletter, you agree to our Terms and Privacy Policy.

Thanks for signing up.