Big 12 Football: Who Will Win the Round Robin in 2011?

Gary BrownCorrespondent IIApril 9, 2011

GLENDALE, AZ - JANUARY 01:  Travis Lewis #28 of the Oklahoma Sooners reacts at the end of the game against the Connecticut Huskies during the Tostitos Fiesta Bowl at the Universtity of Phoenix Stadium on January 1, 2011 in Glendale, Arizona.  (Photo by Ronald Martinez/Getty Images)
Ronald Martinez/Getty Images

It will be a different Big 12 in 2011.

First, there will only be 10 teams with Nebraska heading to the Big Ten (Which has 12 teams) and Colorado off to the properly named Pac-12.

Second, the league will play a round robin in 2011 and there will be no divisional alignments.

Another big change will be the lack of a conference championship game. Under NCAA rules, conferences without 12 teams are not able to play a title game to pick a conference champ.

A few quick Big 12 notes:

  • Last year, eight Big 12 teams qualified for bowl games.
  • In out-of-conference play, the league went 43-13.
  • Thirty players were selected by NFL teams in 2010.

Now for the predictions on how the Big 12 will turn out in football for 2011.

  1. Oklahoma
  2. Oklahoma State
  3. Texas A&M
  4. Texas
  5. Texas Tech
  6. Kansas State
  7. Missouri
  8. Baylor
  9. Kansas
  10. Iowa State

The automatic bid to play in a BCS game will go to Oklahoma. The Sooners will play Alabama for the national title, which means Oklahoma State will give the conference two BCS bowls.

Visit College Sports Matchups today.