MLB Predictions: Cy Young Award Winners

Adam BernacchioAnalyst IIIMarch 30, 2011

As Prediction Week continues to roll towards Opening Day on Thursday, today we will give it the ole college try and attempt to predict this year’s American League and National League Cy Young Award winners. Two years ago, I predicted Cole Hamels and Zack Greinke would win the Cy Young Awards and last year, I thought Jon Lester and Roy Halladay would win the award.

I keep getting half of the equation right. Let’s see if I can get a cool 100 percent correct this season.


American League

Candidates: Jon Lester, David Price, Justin Verlander, Felix Hernandez, Gio Gonzalez, Mariano Rivera

Predicted Winner: Jon Lester, Boston Red Sox

Reason Why: Fool me once, shame on you. Fool me twice, shame on me. I think I am going to pick Lester to win until he eventually does.

I felt good about Lester last year and I feel even better about him this year. He finished fourth in Cy Young voting in 2010 when he compiled a 19-9 record with a 3.25 ERA, 1.20 WHIP and 225 Ks in 208 innings.

There were a couple of things that Lester could improve on from last year. First, his April was dreadful by his standards. He had a 4.71 ERA and allowed 15 walks in just 28.2 innings. Very Tim Wakefield-like.

Second, he really fell off in the second half. After going 11-3 with a 2.78 ERA and 1.09 WHIP in the first half, Lester went 8-6 with a 3.89 ERA and 1.35 WHIP in the second half.

If Lester can maintain consistency and pitch to the level he is capable of throughout the season, he will make another run at the Cy Young and this time, win it.

National League

Candidates: Tim Lincecum, Clayton Kershaw, Roy Halladay, Cliff Lee, Cole Hamels, Roy Oswalt, Josh Johnson, Tommy Hanson, Edinson Volquez, Ubaldo Jimenez

Predicted Winner: Roy Halladay, Philadelphia Phillies

Reason Why: I really like Lincecum and I think Volquez is going to be a real sleeper this year. But in the end, I believe Halladay will once again walk away with the award.

It wouldn’t shock me if the NL Cy Young vote came down to a situation like it did with Felix Hernandez last season. I could easily see Halladay having the best peripherals of anyone, but not the wins. At this point, I couldn’t tell you how the Phillies are going to score more than three runs a game with all their injuries on offense.

I also think the Phillies’ starters might be the victims of some blown saves now that the ever-so-unreliable Jose Contreras is closing in place of Brad Lidge. So it wouldn’t be a surprise if Halladay went 17-13 with a 2.30 ERA and still won the award.

You can follow The Ghost of Moonlight Graham on Twitter @ theghostofmlg