NHL 2010-11 Season Annual Awards Prediction

Michael DeSantisSenior Analyst IMarch 27, 2011

PITTSBURGH - MAY 28:  The Art Ross Trophy displayed at the NHL Awards presentation at the Omni William Penn Hotel on May 28, 2008 in Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania.  (Photo by Jamie Sabau/Getty Images)
Jamie Sabau/Getty Images

Another exciting year of NHL hockey is nearing a close with each team having about seven or so games remaining, which means that officials are starting to prepare their votes for the NHL award ceremony. 

Some of the awards given are the Vezina Trophy, given to the best goaltender, the Calder Trophy given to the rookie of the year, the Art Ross trophy given to the player who notches the most points and the Maurice "Rocket" Richard trophy given to the player with the most goals in the league. 

Here are some predictions on the finalists and who will win the awards.

The Vezina is given to the top goaltender in the league. This year, the Vezina finalists will most likely be Tim Thomas of the Boston Bruins, Henrik Lundqvist of the New York Rangers and Carey Price of the Montreal Canadiens. 

I believe Thomas is the frontrunner and Lundqvist is close behind.  Lundqvist leads the league in shutouts with 11, but Thomas has eight shutouts and leads the league by a lot in Save Percentage with a dazzling .939 and a 2.00 Goals Against Average.  My prediction for the Vezina is Tim Thomas.

The Calder Trophy race is a very tight one this year, with many astounding rookies in the league. The three finalists should be Logan Couture of the San Jose Sharks, Jeff Skinner of the Carolina Hurricanes and Michael Grabner of the New York Islanders. Skinner leads the rookies in points with 54 as of now, with Couture and Grabner close behind with 53 and 48 respectively.

However, Grabner leads in goals with 31, one more than Couture and five more than Skinner. Although he SHOULD be heavily considered, Grabner may not win it because he plays for the Islanders, which would hurt his chances. I believe Logan Couture will win the Calder, as he is up there in goals and points, and has really helped the San Jose Sharks team.

The Art Ross Trophy is awarded to the player with the most points. Daniel Sedin, who leads the league so far with 95 points and has a six-point lead over Martin St. Louis, is my favorite to win the Art Ross. He'll be able to hold on, and follow his brother Henrik who won the Art Ross last season.

The Maurice "Rocket" Richard Trophy is awarded to the NHL's most prolific goal scorer. Corey Perry of the Anaheim Ducks leads the league with 44, one more than Steven Stamkos of the Tampa Bay Lightning.  However, I believe that Stamkos will come back and win the trophy again for the second year in a row. 

So in short, the Bruins Tim Thomas will win the Vezina, the Sharks Logan Couture will win the Calder, the Art Ross will be taken home by Daniel Sedin of the Vancouver Canucks and Steven Stamkos of the Tampa Bay Lightning will win the Rocket Richard trophy.