March Madness 2011 Bracket: Who Will Take Home the Title?

Jacqueline KirbyContributor IIIMarch 14, 2011

INDIANAPOLIS - APRIL 05:  A general view of the Butler Bulldogs playing against the Duke Blue Devils during the 2010 NCAA Division I Men's Basketball National Championship game at Lucas Oil Stadium on April 5, 2010 in Indianapolis, Indiana.  (Photo by Kevin C. Cox/Getty Images)
Kevin C. Cox/Getty Images

Every year around this time sports fans glue themselves to the television set for two weeks straight, wondering who will be the Cinderella team, the upset and the champion?

There are a core group of teams that make the tournament just about every year. North Carolina, Duke, Villanova, Kentucky, Xavier, Kansas, St. John's and the list goes on.  The interesting stories though, are the No. 16 seeds that fight their way to get in and make it through a few rounds.  

Boston University and Hampton don't stand a chance against Kansas and Duke unfortunately.  The No. 1 seeds this year are very powerful, as are a few of the No. 2 seeds, so it will be interesting to see just how the tournament plays out.  

Here are my predictions:

Sweet 16: West Virginia, North Carolina, Ohio State and Xavier in the East; Duke, UConn, Texas and Temple in the West; Kansas, Notre Dame, Vanderbilt and Purdue in the Southwest; and Wisconsin, BYU, Pittsburgh and Florida in the Southeast. 

Elite Eight:  West Virginia and North Carolina in the East, Duke and UConn in the West, Kansas and Notre Dame in the Southwest, then Wisconsin and BYU in the Southeast.  

Final Four: North Carolina, Duke, Kansas and BYU, with Duke and Kansas competing for the title.

The overall champion?  As much as I hate to say it, I think Duke will bring it home again this year.  They have been so powerful all season, and there's no doubt that Nolan Smith, Seth Curry, Kyle Singler and the Plumlee brothers will not go down without a serious fight.  

As a Tar Heel fan, it would be pretty awesome to see them play again for the Final Four—we need a little redemption from our ACC Championship loss.