UFC Confirms Remaining Bouts for Upcoming UFC 128: Rua Vs. Jones

Brian O. Blake@@BrianOBlakeCorrespondent IMarch 9, 2011

Mauricio "Shogun Rua puts his UFC Light Heavyweight title on the line against Jon "Bones" Jones
Mauricio "Shogun Rua puts his UFC Light Heavyweight title on the line against Jon "Bones" Jones

The UFC was in a bit of a spot after it was announced that former light heavyweight title-holder Rashad Evans was forced out of his title shot against current champion Mauricio “Shogun” Rua.

Following the injury to Evans, the UFC opted to keep the main event intact, having Rua defend his title against the sport's hottest prospect of recent memory in Jon “Bones” Jones.

With the main event once again good to go, Dana White, Joe Silva and the rest of the team were able to finalize the rest of the matches for the March 19 event hosted by the Prudential Center in Newark, N.J.

Here’s how the fight card has shaped up:

 

Main Card (Televised on PPV 10 p.m. ET/7 p.m. PT):

UFC Light Heavyweight Championship: Mauricio “Shogun” Rua vs. Jon “Bones” Jones
Bantamweights: “The California Kid” Urijah Faber vs. Eddie Wineland
Lightweights: Jim Miller vs. Kamal “Prince of Persia” Shalrous
Middleweights: Yoshihiro “Sexyama” Akiyama vs. Nate “The Great” Marquardt
Heavyweights: Mirko “Cro-Cop” Filipovic vs. Brendan “The Hybrid” Schaub

 

Preliminary Bouts (Televised on Spike TV 9 p.m. ET/6 p.m. PT):

Light Heavyweights: Luis “Banha” Cane vs. Eliot “The Fire” Marshall
Lightweights: Edson Barboza vs. Anthony Njokuani

 

Preliminary Bouts (Streamed on Facebook 8 p.m. ET/5 p.m. PT):

Welterweights: Ricardo “Cachorrao” Almeida vs. Mike “Quicksand” Pyle
Lightweights: Kurt “Batman” Pellegrino vs. Gleison Tibau

 

Non-Televised Undercard:

Bantamweights: Joseph Benevidez vs. Ian “The Barn Owl” Loveland
Featherweights: Raphael Assunção vs. Erik “New Breed” Koch
Middleweights: Dan Miller vs. Nick “The Jersey Devil” Catone

More news on UFC 128: Rua vs. Jones to follow.

 

UFC 128: Shogun Rua vs. Jon Jones: Results, News and More

 

________________________________________________

Questions and comments can be sent to: brianoblake@yahoo.com

Original story can be found at SportsBettingWorld.com

Related

    How Shaun White Got His Swagger Back

    Featured logo
    Featured

    How Shaun White Got His Swagger Back

    Brandon Sneed
    via Bleacherreport

    Inside the Dorms with Miracle on Ice 2.0 🎮

    Featured logo
    Featured

    Inside the Dorms with Miracle on Ice 2.0 🎮

    Joon Lee
    via Bleacher Report

    USA Soccer Just Made Another Huge Mistake

    Featured logo
    Featured

    USA Soccer Just Made Another Huge Mistake

    Jesus Jimenez
    via Bleacher Report

    Can We Handle a Jags-Vikes Super Bowl?

    Featured logo
    Featured

    Can We Handle a Jags-Vikes Super Bowl?

    Mike Tanier
    via Bleacher Report