Cricket: Five Great Players Who Always Failed in World Cup Finals

« Prev
1 of 6
Next »
Use your ← → (arrow) keys to browse the slideshow
Cricket: Five Great Players Who Always Failed in World Cup Finals
Getty Images/Getty Images
Clive Lloyd holds the World Cup aloft, but this game contained five great who failed in every final they played in

The ICC World Cup is almost upon us. The competition has grown from its humble early beginnings into a global event beloved the world over. The story of Afghanistan almost qualifying for the finals—and effectively only being denied by a change to the rules—captured hearts even outside the traditional cricketing heartlands.

Over the 26 years since its inception, there have been great moments, some players have taken their first steps towards immortality (Viv Richards in 1975), some have become national heroes (Kapil Dev, 1983) and some have simply grabbed their 15 minutes of fame and run with it (Mike Veletta in 1987).

On the other hand, these five great players—who, coincidentally, all played in the 1979 Final—each made it to at least two finals and failed to perform in any of them. Proof that even the biggest names can freeze on the big occasion.

Begin Slideshow »

Follow B/R on Facebook


Subscribe Now

By signing up for our newsletter, you agree to our Terms and Privacy Policy.

Thanks for signing up.