Bill Belichick Wins Third Coach of The Year Award, Second Only to Don Shula

Aaron DodgeAnalyst IFebruary 2, 2011

The Associated Press has named New England Patriots Head Coach Bill Belichick as the 2010 NFL Coach of the Year, marking the third time he has won the honor.

Belichick first won the award in 2003, leading the Patriots to a league best 14-2 regular season record and the franchise's second Super Bowl title in three years, beating the Carolina Panthers, 32-29.

In 2007, New England set six NFL records, including most points scored in a season, on its way to an undefeated regular season record and a fourth Super Bowl appearance in seven years.

Belichick led the 2010 Patriots to a league best 14-2 regular season record with the most productive offense in league. The team far exceeded early expectations, as it overcame the age and inexperience of its defense, the loss of key veterans Ty Warren and Leigh Bodden before the start of the season and the midseason reinvention of its offense. 

Belichick's three Coach of the Year awards rank second only to Don Shula, a four-time winner.



Got a take on my take or the article itself? Please feel welcome to share your thoughts and opinions in the comment section below I'll try and respond to most. If you like the article feel free to "Like" it below and/or on Facebook. Didn't like the article or my take? Please feel welcome to share those thoughts and opinions as well, I'd love to hear your feedback.