WWE: The 16 Greatest Wrestlers That Never Held the WWE Title

« Prev
1 of 17
Next »
Use your ← → (arrow) keys to browse the slideshow
WWE: The 16 Greatest Wrestlers That Never Held the WWE Title

From Buddy Rogers to The Miz and everyone in between, there have been a slew of memorable WWE Champions.  Bruno Sammartino held the title for nearly 3,000 days.  However, several superstars, including Yokozuna, John Cena (cut short, sixth reign) and Andre The Giant held the title for a matter of minutes.

The best superstars haven't always been champions as you will see on this list.  Likewise though, many of the all-time greats have held the title numerous times.  Bret Hart, Shawn Michaels, Undertaker, Hulk Hogan, Steve Austin, The Rock, etc. are all in the annals of wrestling history.  

Some of the most naturally gifted competitors that this business has ever seen will never get a chance to hold the title.  At least they're still a part of history in their own ways.  Not to spoil the list, but the phrase "naturally gifted" ought to give you a major hint at one of the top guys on this list if you watched during the early 1990s. 

It always puzzles me how so many of the men that you will see on this list never held the biggest title in the company.  While they all enjoyed a lot of success throughout their respective careers, the WWE Title eluded them.  Some were thisclose to title glory only to have it ripped away from them.  They're all appreciated on this list.  

The WWE Champion ought to have the "total package."  As we've seen in the past, many of them have had that and then some.  However, there remains that distinct group of guys who had the same skill-set and "package" yet were denied.

Here are the top 16 wrestlers never to hold the WWE Championship.

Begin Slideshow »

Follow B/R on Facebook


Subscribe Now

By signing up for our newsletter, you agree to our Terms and Privacy Policy.

Thanks for signing up.