College Football: Who Are These Guys? 10 Darkhorse Heisman Hopefuls in 2011

« Prev
1 of 11
Next »
Use your ← → (arrow) keys to browse the slideshow
College Football: Who Are These Guys? 10 Darkhorse Heisman Hopefuls in 2011
Streeter Lecka/Getty Images

I'll spare you the list regarding 10 Heisman hopefuls. For the most part, they are predictable and would be the same on anybody's list.

However, just for clarity's sake, that list includes the following players: Andrew Luck of Stanford, Marcus Lattimore of South Carolina, Kellen Moore of Boise State, LaMichael James and Darron Thomas of Oregon, Landry Jones and Ryan Broyles of Oklahoma, Trent Richardson of Alabama, Justin Blackmon and Brandon Weeden of Oklahoma State.

Maybe some might disagree that one or two of the above shouldn't be considered "favorites," but for the most part, I think that group of 10 is accurate.

In effect, as that bunch is fairly palpable, this list will focus on dark-horse possibilities for the award, much as last year's winner, Cam Newton, was nowhere to be seen on Heisman favorite lists in August .

This list is predicated on the following two assumptions: Firstly, only a quarterback, running back, or a receiver that returns kicks has a realistic shot at winning.

Secondly, a player on a team that doesn't make a BCS bowl doesn't have a shot at winning.

I do not agree with the circumstances that cause me to make these assumptions. However, they are realities that are borne out by every single winner since the first year of the BCS. In that year, Ricky Williams was the only non-BCS bowl player in the BCS era to win the Heisman.

As the BCS comes down to money, don't expect it to happen again. It's simply not good business.

Moreover, if Ndamukong Suh losing to Mark Ingram—as well as Colt McCoy and Toby Gerhart—in 2009 proves anything, it is that a non-offensive skill player is not going to win the Heisman.

Begin Slideshow »

Follow B/R on Facebook

SEC Football

Subscribe Now

By signing up for our newsletter, you agree to our Terms and Privacy Policy.

Thanks for signing up.