TCU Reminds Us That the BCS Is BS With Rose Bowl Win Over Wisconsin

Gene StrotherCorrespondent IIIJanuary 2, 2011

PASADENA, CA - JANUARY 01:  Quarterback Andy Dalton #14 of the TCU Horned Frogs looks to pass against the Wisconsin Badgers during the 97th Rose Bowl game on January 1, 2011 in Pasadena, California.  (Photo by Stephen Dunn/Getty Images)
Stephen Dunn/Getty Images

The TCU Horned Frogs did what they had to do: they posted an undefeated season and beat Wisconsin in the Rose Bowl.

Going into the Granddaddy of them all, Wisconsin was believed by many to be the hottest team in the country. The Badgers boast an NFL-sized offensive line and a three-headed monstrosity at running back. Plenty of pundits knew the Badgers' oversized O-Line would be too much for the undersized defensive unit of the Horned Frogs, and it almost was.

On the first play of the game, Wisconsin ripped off a 40-yard run right up the gut. It looked like an "oh no" moment. Maybe TCU was in over its head.

It wasn't. The Horned Frogs adjusted, shut down Wisconsin for almost the entire second half and then batted down a pass to prevent a two-point conversion, sealing their 21–19 victory over the mighty Badgers of the Big Ten.

Still, the best the 13–0 Horned Frogs can finish is second in the country. Maybe third.

Maybe that is all TCU is: third-best. Who knows? Not me. Not you. Not the good old boys who keep a horribly flawed system in place to protect their revenue stream and keep the little guys, the lesser lights, out of the national championship picture.

Since the BCS started spreading its BS and crowning bogus champions (well, except for the Longhorns' championship *wink*), there have been eight undefeated teams that have not had a crying chance of being named the national champion:

  • Tulane 12–0, 1998
  • Marshall 13–0, 1999
  • Utah 12–0, 2004
  • Auburn 13–0, 2004
  • Boise State 13–0, 2006
  • Utah 13–0, 2008
  • Boise State 14–0, 2009
  • TCU 13–0, 2010

This is not an argument that all or any of these teams should have been national champions. It is an argument that all of them should have been able to prove they were or weren't in a postseason playoff system. Everybody wants it. Everybody knows it is the right thing to do. Everybody understands that Division I NCAA football is the only major American team sporting organization that does not provide a playoff system to determine its champion.

Everybody but the ones who count.

These NCAA Philistines do not want Goliath exposed to the ruddy youth named David. They fear his slingshot. They fear that his one smooth stone may bring their kingdom of corruption and cronyism crashing to the earth.

And they may be right.

Let purple reign!