New England Patriots' Team Captains

Zach AugerContributor ISeptember 6, 2008

As the 2008 season begins, the time has come for the team to elect its eight captains. On offense, the Patriots have chosen quarterback and reigning MVP Tom Brady, his favorite target and All-Pro WR Randy Moss, and All-Pro LT Matt Light.

The Defense will be commanded by linebackers Tedy Bruschi and Mike Vrabel, as well as veteran safety Rodney Harrison and defensive lineman Vince Wilfork. Linebacker Larry Izzo will serve as the captain on special teams.

All captains were elected by their teammates this week. Brady has been elected captain for the seventh season in a row. Just like Brady, Tedy Bruschi has been captain since 2002. Harrison will have been elected as team captain for his fifth time, as he had it four straight years from 2003-2006, but did not receive the honor last season. Vrabel will be going into his fourth straight year as a defensive captain.

Moss, Light, and Wilfork are captains for the first time; however, the least known player of these eight has been a Patriot for the longest. Special-teamer Larry Izzo is going into his eighth season with the title of team captain. He has been elected captain each year since joining the team in 2001.