Arizona Cardinals logoArizona Cardinals

Arizona Cardinals Name Team Captains

Tom HighwayCorrespondent ISeptember 5, 2008

As reported this morning by Mike Jurecki of XTra Sports 910 Radio, the Arizona Cardinals players voted five of their teammates to represent the squad as team captains:

Kurt Warner (Quarterback), Reggie Wells (Left Offensive Guard), Karlos Dansby (Linebacker), Aaron Francisco (ST, Safety), Sean Morey (ST, WR).

Anquan Boldin, who has been a team captain in the past and is now embroiled in a contract dispute with the Cardinal front office, was conspicuously absent from the list.

Also noteworthy is the players' vote of confidence for Kurt Warner.  Warner, who unseated Matt Leinart as the starting quarterback, led the NFL in touchdown passes during the second half of the 2007 season and sealed the job in a training camp battle this summer.

Where can I comment?

Stay on your game

Latest news, insights, and forecasts on your teams across leagues.

Choose Teams
Get it on the App StoreGet it on Google Play

Real-time news for your teams right on your mobile device.

Copyright © 2017 Bleacher Report, Inc. Turner Broadcasting System, Inc. All Rights Reserved. is part of Bleacher Report – Turner Sports Network, part of the Turner Sports and Entertainment Network. Certain photos copyright © 2017 Getty Images. Any commercial use or distribution without the express written consent of Getty Images is strictly prohibited. AdChoices