Pittsburgh Penguins

Sidney Crosby: Will the NHL Finally Discipline Their Baby Boy?

PITTSBURGH - NOVEMBER 19:  Sidney Crosby #87 of the Pittsburgh Penguins talks with officials Tony Sericolo #84 and Greg Kimmerly #18 during a game against the Carolina Hurricanes on November 19, 2010 at Consol Energy Center in Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania.  (Photo by Jamie Sabau/Getty Images)
Jamie Sabau/Getty Images
Nick PerriAnalyst INovember 30, 2010

In the first period of the most recent New York Rangers-Pittsburgh Penguins showdown at Madison Square Garden, the NHL's top superstar, Sidney Crosby, lucked out of a penalty call on one of hockey's dirtiest plays: the slewfoot.

The Slewfoot: In hockey, when using your leg to take someone off balance from behind by sweeping the back of their knee, often resulting in injury.

In this play, the slewfoot was evident, and the MSG Network did a fine job sharing the dirty play with the world.

 

The Play

Crosby and Rangers forward Ryan Callahan skated side-by-side passed center ice, bumping each other multiple times. At first it seemed like a pretty clean play. But in the end, Callahan would be called for an interference penalty, and after reviewing an action replay, it was apparent that the referees had made a terrible mistake. Callahan was called for the penalty, while Crosby would skate away free of charge after a clear slewfoot, and a clear cheap shot.

At the end of the play, Crosby slid his skate between the skates of Callahan, taking him down to the ice and pinning him there for a brief moment before the referees blew their whistles, and motioned Callahan to the penalty box.

Callahan gave the officials a piece of his mind before entering the sin-bin, but that wouldn't change anything.

So, once again we see the NHL's baby boy skate away without being disciplined by the NHL's officiating crew, though an illegal play was easily spotted by the Rangers bench, broadcasters and fanbase; it's just not right.

Now, don't worry Penguin fans, I will not be throwing any cheap shots or nicknames at your famed leader. 

Instead I will allow the New York Rangers lead scorer to tell you how it is: 

“Yeah, I mean that’s just a dirty play. He tries to get away with all that kind of nonsense, and complains a lot.” The words from Rangers left winger, Brandon Dubinsky.

Yes, it was a dirty play, and he does get away with that "kind of nonsense" a lot.

But will the NHL actually look into the play? Maybe, but I highly doubt it.

When have they ever looked into a dirty play coming from Crosby? The NHL will probably take a look at Dubinsky's comments instead of the hit.

It's quite evident that Crosby is not treated like every other professional hockey player. Seriously, how can the referees make such a terrible penalty call on Callahan and allow Crosby to get away with such a dirty play?

It's just not fair, and it's not right.

So NHL fans, what do you think? Should the NHL take a look at Crosby's most recent play? Is Crosby treated differently by NHL officials?

Leave your thoughts in the comment section below.

 

Where can I comment?

Stay on your game

Latest news, insights, and forecasts on your teams across leagues.

Choose Teams
Get it on the App StoreGet it on Google Play

Real-time news for your teams right on your mobile device.

Download
Copyright © 2017 Bleacher Report, Inc. Turner Broadcasting System, Inc. All Rights Reserved. BleacherReport.com is part of Bleacher Report – Turner Sports Network, part of the Turner Sports and Entertainment Network. Certain photos copyright © 2017 Getty Images. Any commercial use or distribution without the express written consent of Getty Images is strictly prohibited. AdChoices