Rick Hendrick Includes Crew Chief Changes in Major Shakeup at HMS

Sal Sigala Jr.Senior Analyst INovember 23, 2010

CHARLOTTE, NC - MAY 23:  Team owner Rick Hendrick speaks during the 2010 NASCAR Hall of Fame Induction Ceremony at the Charlotte Convention Center on May 23, 2010 in Charlotte, North Carolina.  (Photo by Streeter Lecka/Getty Images)
Streeter Lecka/Getty Images

After watching Richard Childress Racing make some changes during the offseason to put all three of his drivers in the 2010 Sprint Cup Chase for the championship, it was almost inevitable that Rick Hendrick would also be making changes of his own once the season ended.

Hendrick Motorsports team owner Rick Hendrick will make an official announcement tomorrow concerning three driver crew chief combinations, which will take effect immediately.

Mark Martin will be paired with Earnhardt’s crew chief Lance McGrew while Earnhardt will pick up Steve LeTarte from Jeff Gordon.

Gordon will have Alan Gustafson atop his pit box, and the only driver who will see no changes is Jimmie Johnson who will keep his long-time crew chief Chad Knaus.

According to a Hendrick Motorsports press release, the cars of Martin and four-time Sprint Cup champion Gordon will be fielded out of the same facility, now known as the 5/24 shop. Earnhardt Jr.'s Chevrolets will be prepared out of the renamed 48/88 shop alongside those of five-time and defending Cup champion Jimmie Johnson.

"This will improve us as an organization, across the board," said Rick Hendrick, owner of Hendrick Motorsports.

Hendrick also added, "We had a championship season (in 2010), but we weren't where we wanted and needed to be with all four teams. We've made the right adjustments, and I'm excited to go racing with this lineup."