Did the Minnesota Twins Get Screwed? Nope, Don't Think So

Use your ← → (arrow) keys to browse more stories
Did the Minnesota Twins Get Screwed? Nope, Don't Think So
Hannah Foslien/Getty Images

To everyone that thinks the Minnesota Twins got screwed by the umpire who called the pitch before the Yankees' Lance Berkman got the RBI hit a ball, when it was actually a strike, the umpire had already called an earlier pitch in that at bat a strike when it was clearly six inches off the plate.

Essentially, it was a make-up call (even though it shouldn't be necessary) and had no effect on the at bat. The umpire for the Yankees-Twins game missed pitches on the outside corner of the plate all night. A lot of the "strikes" looked to be about six inches or more off the plate, and should have been called balls.
I agree with what former player, and current TBS analyst David Wells said recently. Everyone wants to incorporate more replay in baseball, but it only is a bandage for the real problem—poor umpiring.

Follow Minnesota Twins from B/R on Facebook

Follow Minnesota Twins from B/R on Facebook and get the latest updates straight to your newsfeed!

Minnesota Twins

Subscribe Now

By signing up for our newsletter, you agree to our Terms and Privacy Policy.

Thanks for signing up.