Jeffrey Lisandro Wins Event Two Of World Series Of Poker Europe

Use your ← → (arrow) keys to browse more stories
Jeffrey Lisandro Wins Event Two Of World Series Of Poker Europe

Event No. 2 is in the books for the World Series of Poker Europe and professional poker players are two for two in the win column.

Early this week, Jeffrey “The Iceman” Lisandro came away with the win, €159,000 and a WSOP gold bracelet in the €5,000 buy in Pot Limit Omaha tournament.

This is the fifth gold braclet for Lisandro. His first bracelet came at the 2007 WSOP; when he took down the $2,000 buy in Seven-Card Stud tournament. In 2009 he won three WSOP tournaments, joining Puggy Pearson (1973), Phil Hellmuth (1993), Ted Forrest (1993) and Phil Ivey (2002) as the only players to win three tournaments in a single year at the WSOP.

In 2009 he was victorious in the following WSOP events, $1,500 buy in Seven-Card Stud, $10,000 buy in World Championship Seven-Card Stud High-Low and $2,500 buy in Razz. Lisandro also cashed in three additional tournaments and took home the 2009 WSOP Player of the Year Award.

The final day of the €5,000 Pot Limit Omaha Tournament started with 15 of the original field of 120 players returning in search of the gold bracelet and the winners take of the €600,000 prize pool.

Seven players were eliminated on the way to an impressive final table. The final eight players included four former WSOP bracelet winners, Chris Bjorin, Willie Tann, Jeff Madsen and Lisandro. Two of those players were also former WSOP player of the year winners, Madsen (2006) and Lisandro.

Not to be outdone, Bjorin and Tann were playing at their second final table at this year’s WSOP Europe after making the cut days before at the €2,500 buy in Six-Handed No Limit Hold’em event.

Rounding out the final table were 2010 WSOP November Nine finalist John Racener, as well as Felipe Ramos, Jeff Kimber, Karl Mahrenholz and Joe Serock. All of these players have seen success on the tournament circuit, with Kimber and Racener both over $1,000,000 in career tournament winnings.

When the tournament got down to heads up play it was Lisandro against Serock. The two wasted no time going at each other with an early all in that saw a split pot when both players made a Broadway straight (AKQJT).

The final hand came when Serock put all 440,000 of his chips at risk when he went all in before the flop. Lisandro, with 1,360,000 chips, made the call and the players turned over their cards. Lisandro held As Qs 6s 2c, while Serock showed Ks 7s 6h 5h. The board came Jh 9s 8d 2d Js and Lisandro’s pair of deuces bested Serock’s king high.

With his five bracelets, Lisandro is now tied for 12th all time in WSOP bracelets with Scotty Nguyen, Allen Cunningham, Chris “Jesus” Ferguson, Ted Forrest, Huck Seed, Berry Johnston, Stu Ungar and Gary “Bones” Berland.

The victory put Lisandro’s lifetime tournament earnings at $4,437,650. The win also added to his impressive WSOP resume which includes 15 final table appearances and 34 cashes. 

Not to be passed over is Chris Bjorin who finished in eighth place. Bjorin’s in the money finish put him at six WSOP Europe cashes, an impressive number when you realize that the WSOP Europe has only had 13 bracelet events in its history.

 The final table payouts:

Jeffrey Lisandro                        €159,514

Joseph Serock                          €98,262

Wille Tann                                 €71,184

Jeff Madsen                               €52,542

John Racener                             €39,486

Karl Mahrenholz                         €30,192

Felipe Ramos                             €23,478

Jeff Kimber                                 €18,564

Load More Stories

Follow B/R on Facebook