Match-Ups Announced For K-1 World Grand Prix Final 16

Aaron YoungContributor IIISeptember 19, 2010

The official card for the K-1 World Grand Prix 2010 in Seoul Final 16 card has been announced.

On Sunday, FEG President Sadaharu Tanigawa revealed the sixteen World Grand Prix participants and their perspective match-ups.

Three non-tournament bouts were confirmed, as well.

The opening contest will be between two South Korean kickboxers, Min Ho Song and Hyun Man Myung.

That fight will be followed by two K-1 "Superfights." The first of which pits longtime Pride FC competitor Sergei Kharitonov against Takumi Sato, a Japanese fighter. Kharitonov was unsuccessful in his K-1 debut last year at the 2009 Grand Prix Final, suffering a KO loss to Daniel Ghita.

The second "Superfight" will be between K-1 veteran Chalid "Die Faust" Arrab, who had not competed since a loss to Ruslan Karaev at the 2008 Final 16, and Bosnian kickboxer Dzevad Poturak, who in his last K-1 appearance lost to Alistair Overeem in April.

Following the three non-tournament fights, the 2010 edition of the K-1 World Grand Prix will officially commence.

The winners of the World Grand Prix tournaments in Bucharest and Canberra were also granted berths. K-1 Heavyweight Champion Keijiro Maeda was also granted entry into the event.

The final seven participants were voted in by the K-1 fans. They are as follows: Peter Aerts, Andrei Arlovski, Raul Catinas, Hesdy Gerges, Daniel Ghita, Gokhan Saki, and Tyrone Spong.

In the first tournament bout, Ruslan Karaev, who is a member of the Golden Glory team along with Alistair Overeem and Semmy Schilt, will face off against Tryone Spong, who defeated the Heavyweight Champion Maeda in a non-tournament match at last year's Final.

That fight will be followed by former UFC Heavyweight Champion Andrei Arlovski's K-1 debut. "The Pitbull", who holds a 15-8 record in MMA, will fight young Romanian fighter Raul Catinas, 22, who holds a 5-3 record in K-1 bouts.

The third tournament match-up will feature Turkish kickboxer Gokhan Saki and longtime K-1 fighter Freddy Kemayo. Saki is 2-2 in tournament bouts while Kemayo, who has been competing in K-1 for eight years, is a tournament rookie.

Next, Errol Zimmerman will square off against Daniel Ghita. Zimmerman, an up-and-coming Dutch fighter, is 3-2 in tournament fights while Ghita, who won last year's Final 16 Qualifying GP, will be looking for his first Finals appearance.

In the fifth tournament bout, three time K-1 World Grand Prix Champion Peter Aerts will fight 2008 K-1 in Fukoka Champion Ewerton Teixeira. Aerts had been a finalist in 16 straight K-1 World Grand Prix before failing to qualify for last year's Final. Tiexiera has lost in the quarterfinals of the tournament in his first two appearances.

The sixth tournament contest will be between It's Showtime Heavyweight Champion Hesdy Gerges and defending champion Semmy Schilt, who, along with Ernesto Hoost, holds the record for Grand Prix Championships at four. The two kickboxers fought in March of 2009 with Schilt winning by decision.

In the seventh tournament bout , kickboxing legend Jerome Le Banner, who lost in the quarterfinals last year to eventual champion Semmy Schilt, will take on the K-1 Heavyweight Champion Maeda, who failed to qualify for last year's final.

In the final tournament bout and last match of the card, rising K-1 star and Strikeforce Heavyweight Champion Alistair Overeem and Canberra Grand Prix Champion Ben Edwards will face off. Overeem finished third in last year's Grand Prix, while the young Ben Edwards, 25, will be making his tournament debut.

The eight winners in tournament bouts will qualify for the K-1 World Grand Prix 2010 Final on December 22, in Yokohoma, Japan. Last year, Semmy Schilt won his fourth title in five years defeating Jerome Le Banner, Remy Bojansky, and Badr Hari on his way to the championship.

The participating fighters may change due to injury before the event.

The event will take place on Saturday, October 2, one day before the K-1 MAX Final 16.