Ohio State-Michigan Game Takes a Turn Downhill with the Big Ten's New Divisions

Clint RhodeContributor ISeptember 2, 2010

ANN ARBOR, MI - NOVEMBER 21:  Quarterback Terrelle Pryor #2 of the Ohio State Buckeyes runs the ball during the game against the Michigan Wolverines on November 21, 2009 at Michigan Stadium in Ann Arbor, Michigan. Ohio State won the game 21-10. (Photo by Gregory Shamus/Getty Images)
Gregory Shamus/Getty Images

In the eve of the opening of the college football season. The Big Ten (soon to be 12) announced the divisions that each team will belong to. There was news quickly that Ohio State and Michigan would be playing in separate divisions for the 2011 season.

The news was in fact confirmed that Michigan and and Ohio State would be in separate divisions. This does not mean that "The Game" will no longer be played. The Game will be played every year on the last day of the season as it has for quite some time now. This will be one of the crossover rivalry games that the Big Ten will keep intact.

In the recent years, the winner of The Game would be entitled to bragging rights for the whole year. In 2011, it might not be the case anymore. If both teams (Michigan and Ohio State) have clinched their divisions. The two  teams could play each other for consecutive weeks.

If this does happen, Ohio State and Michigan could split the series for that year. Where would the bragging right be? Will the fans use the "The Game" for bragging rights? Or will it be the conference championship game for that?

What real question is: What would Woody and Bo say to where to Big Teh is heading?