Big Ten Announces Divisions: Who Are The Winners and Losers Of Expansion

« Prev
1 of 12
Next »
Use your ← → (arrow) keys to browse the slideshow
Big Ten Announces Divisions: Who Are The Winners and Losers Of Expansion
Stephen Dunn/Getty Images

After a great deal of anticipation, the Big Ten divisional alignments were finally announced.

It will break down officially as an East and a West division. However, geography only seems to play a small part.

The East will consist of: Ohio State, Penn State, Wisconsin, Purdue, Illinois, and Indiana.

The West will be: Michigan, Nebraska, Iowa, Northwestern, Michigan State, and Minnesota.

The guaranteed cross-divisional rivalries start with Michigan and OSU.

On top of that, Wisconsin and Minnesota, and Illinois and Northwestern preserve their annual rivalries.

That leaves Penn State, Purdue, and Indiana from the East, and Nebraska, Iowa, and Michigan State from the West.

Penn State will lose that terribly important Land Grant game in favor of a new rivalry with Nebraska. Meanwhile, it's a little known fact, but the Spartans and Hoosiers do have a rivalry, in which they play for the Old Brass Spittoon.

That leaves the final protected rivalry as Iowa against their newly hated rival, Purdue.

All things considered, I think the Big Ten did a pretty good job. At first glance, it certainly did a much better job than the ACC in 2004 or the Big 12 in 1994.

Nevertheless, in any move like this there are going to be some toes that get stepped on, and some institutions coming away with a sweeter deal than others.

Some rivalry games will no longer be an annual event. Some fans' and teams' travel expenditures will get much pricier.

The following slideshow breaks down who are the winners and losers of the divisional alignment and ultimately, Big Ten Expansion.

Begin Slideshow »

Follow B/R on Facebook

Big Ten Football

Subscribe Now

By signing up for our newsletter, you agree to our Terms and Privacy Policy.

Thanks for signing up.