Who's Your Draddy?: Praise for Dennis Dixon

Bleacher Report Senior Analyst IDecember 2, 2007

Icon Sports MediaWith one play, Dennis Dixon's season was over.

With that same play, the hopes of an entire campus went up in smoke.

Oregon was sitting pretty before an  injury ended the Heisman-hopeful's season—the Ducks were ranked second in almost all of the major polls, and were eyeing a possible BCS title game berth.

It was simple—win and they were in.

But Dixon's knee collapsed...and so did his teammates' dreams.

Despite falling out of contention for a national championship and the Heisman Trophy, though, Dixon is now vying for an even more respectable award—the Draddy Trophy, presented by HealthSouth.

The Draddy hasn't been around as long as other awards, but it speaks volumes for the character of its nominees.

The Draddy Trophy is annually handed out to the the nation's most well-rounded player—taking into consideration athletic achievements, academic success, and community leadership.

In fact, the Draddy has often been referred to as "The Academic Heisman."

http://www.ncfaa.org/logos/print/draddy.jpgPast winners include such notables as Danny Wuerffel, Peyton Manning, Chad Pennington, and Craig Krenzel.

If you want some true winners to root for during the upcoming bowl season, look no further than the 15 Draddy finalists:


-Alex Brink, QB, Washington State

-John Carlson, TE, Notre Dame

-Nick Clark, DE, Texas State

-Brandon Cramer, S, Dayton

-Dennis Dixon, QB, Oregon

-Michael Eubanks, LB, Delta State

-Dallas Griffin, C, Texas

-Mike Klinkenborg, LB, Iowa

-J Lehman, LB, Illionis

-Brandon Renkart, LB, Rutgers

-Eric Safran, C, Mount Union

-Paul Smith, QB, Tulsa

-Jacob Tamme, TE, Kentucky

-Jake Weller, DB, Illionis College

-Danny Woodhead, RB, Chadron State


Some of these names you may recognize; others you may not.

You might not know, for instance, that Woodhead became the NCAA's all-time rushing leader this season, breaking the old record of 7,353 yards.

Cramer and Weller have each sustained perfect 4.0 GPAs, while Eubanks is a youth minister and Klinkenborg is a Ronald McDonald House volunteer.

In a sports-crazed society, it's refreshing to see athletes doing things the right way—by achieving greatness on the field as well as off it.

The Draddy Trophy will be presented Tuesday, December 4th. The ceremony will be broadcast live on cstv.com.