NCAA Ice Hockey: Frozen Four to Pittsburgh in 2013, Philly in '14

Mike Stainkamp@mikestainkamp34Contributor IJuly 14, 2010

DETROIT - APRIL 10:   Jimmy Hayes #10 of the Boston College Eagles takes the puck as Craig Smith #15 of the Wisconsin Badgers defends during the championship game of the 2010 NCAA Frozen Four on April 10, 2010 at Ford Field in Detroit, Michigan. Boston College defeated Wisconsin 5-0 to win the national title.  (Photo by Elsa/Getty Images)
Elsa/Getty Images

The Frozen Four, also known as the NCAA Division I Men's Ice Hockey Championship, is coming to Pennsylvania for the first time. The Division I Men's Ice Hockey Committee announced Tuesday that the Frozen Four will be held in Pittsburgh in 2013 and in Philadelphia the following year.

The Consol Energy Center, new home of the Pittsburgh Penguins, will be the first Pennsylvania arena to host the event, which is scheduled to take place April 11-13, 2013. Pittsburgh beat out bids from Boston, Washington and St. Louis to host the event.
The Wells Fargo Center in Philadelphia, home of the Flyers, will be the setting for the 2014 event.
"The number of quality bids submitted made the process of choosing the host sites extremely difficult for the committee," said Bill Bellerose, chairman of the Division I Men's Ice Hockey Committee and associate athletic director at Holy Cross. "We are extremely pleased with every aspect of both winning bids—from the venue, to the community support, to the cities themselves—everything will be first-class. We are confident both sites will put forth the ultimate championship experience for the student-athletes and fans alike."

The 2011 Frozen Four is scheduled for the Xcel Energy Center in St. Paul, MN, and the 2012 tournament will be played at the St. Pete Times Forum in Tampa, FL.

Boston College beat Wisconsin to win the 2010 championship at Ford Field in Detroit.