Ranking the Big Ten's Heisman Trophy Winners, Including Nebraska

« Prev
1 of 18
Next »
Use your ← → (arrow) keys to browse the slideshow
Ranking the Big Ten's Heisman Trophy Winners, Including Nebraska

With the College Football Hall of Fame's annual Enshrinement Festival kicking off this week, and having already tackled the power ranking for the Big Ten's Heisman hopefuls, it made sense to take a closer look at the league's Heisman Trophy winners from the past.

Since 1935, the Big Ten conference has produced 14 Heisman Trophy winners. Starting next year, with the addition of the Nebraska Cornhuskers to the conference, that total jumps to 17.

The Ohio State Buckeyes account for six of the recorded winners, with running back Archie Griffin receiving the honor twice. Troy Smith is the conference's most recent winner, earning the honor in 2006.

Michigan and Nebraska both have three Heisman winners to boast about. Wisconsin, Iowa, Minnesota and Penn State all also lay claim to at least one trophy winner.

Trying to rank the Heisman winners turned out to be a challenge similar to climbing a mountain blindfolded and barefoot. There is difficulty in narrowing down the best of the best. Then, add in the different time periods, different styles of football, varying statistics and school records, and the Heisman ranking turns into a stressful chore that requires at least three bottles of Pepto Bismol to finish.

Still, it was worth a shot. Here is a ranking of the Big Ten Heisman Trophy winners, Cornhuskers included.

Begin Slideshow »

Follow B/R on Facebook

College Football

Subscribe Now

By signing up for our newsletter, you agree to our Terms and Privacy Policy.

Thanks for signing up.