New York Mets logoNew York Mets

New York Mets: Why the Call Was So Bad

NEW YORK - JULY 05:  Manager Jerry Manuel of the New York Mets argues a call in the fifth inning against the Cincinnati Reds with second base umpire Dan Iassogna on July 5, 2010 at Citi Field in the Flushing neighborhood of the Queens borough of New York City.  (Photo by Jim McIsaac/Getty Images)
Jim McIsaac/Getty Images
Mets ParadiseCorrespondent IJuly 6, 2010

Please check out "Mets Paradise" and our forum for everything Mets!!!


In last night's game the umpires made a very controversial call.

With the bases loaded and no out out, Mike Pelfrey threw a pitch to Scott Rolen, which was called a foul tip caught by catcher Rod Barajas. It would have been strike three, which would have been a huge out for Pelfrey. Rolen said that the pitch hit him, and he started to walk down to third base.

For some reason, the umpires met to discuss the play.

This was the only one part of this ridiculous call. If Rolen foul tipped the ball, or if it hit him, the only person with the most clear call would have been home plate umpire Jerry Meals. He had the best view of the play, and he let Rolen and Reds manager Dusty Baker change his call. He needs to be confident in his original call, and can't let others change it. He was right behind the play and let an umpire 100 feet away to make the call.

Whether or not the ball hit Rolen is up for debate. There is no clear video that shows that the ball hit him. However, what is clear is that Rolen started to swing and made no attempt to get out of the way of the ball. He moved his arm into the ball and said it hit him, which you can't do. The rule is:

The batter becomes a runner and is entitled to first base without liability to be put out (provided he advances to and touches first base) when – He is touched by a pitched ball which he is not attempting to hit unless (1) The ball is in the strike zone when it touches the batter, or (2) The batter makes no attempt to avoid being touched by the ball; If the ball is in the strike zone when it touches the batter, it shall be called a strike, whether or not the batter tries to avoid the ball. If the ball is outside the strike zone when it touches the batter, it shall be called a ball if he makes no attempt to avoid being touched.

Clearly, and this is not up for debate, Rolen did not make an attempt to get out of the way of the ball. In fact, he put himself in more of a position to get hit by the ball.

Here are the only situations that should have occurred after this play:

  • Foul tip, caught by the catcher for strike three. It might not have been the right call, but it could have happened.
  • The ball didn't hit Rolen in any way, making it ball three and a 3-2 count.
  • The ball did hit Rolen, but he made no attempt to get out of the way of the pitch. The pitch is a ball, and the count is 3-2.

No matter how you cut it, Rolen should not have been awarded first base. That was the worst call the umpires could have possibly made. If Rolen didn't begin to swing, he wouldn't have been hit by the pitch.

The worst part about the play was that Meals lets the opinion of another umpire affect his call, even though he has the best view of the play. The umpires did a very poor job on this play and they made the wrong call.

Where can I comment?

Stay on your game

Latest news, insights, and forecasts on your teams across leagues.

Choose Teams
Get it on the App StoreGet it on Google Play

Real-time news for your teams right on your mobile device.

Copyright © 2017 Bleacher Report, Inc. Turner Broadcasting System, Inc. All Rights Reserved. is part of Bleacher Report – Turner Sports Network, part of the Turner Sports and Entertainment Network. Certain photos copyright © 2017 Getty Images. Any commercial use or distribution without the express written consent of Getty Images is strictly prohibited. AdChoices