Johnson Wins the Tire War at the Brickyard

Mike DiMauro@miked31784Senior Writer IJuly 27, 2008

Despite the problems with the tires, for the first time in the month of July and for the first time since Michigan (when Dale Earnhardt Jr. won), a driver who's last name was Busch did not win the race today.

Jimmie Johnson won the Brickyard 400 at Indianapolis Motor Speedway. The race could have also been called the "Tireyard 400" because it seemed like there was a major problem with tires and that drivers could only go 10 laps on a set of tires.

Kevin Harvick, Matt Kenseth and Brian Vickers had problems throughout the race and finished below 36th place.

Carl Edwards, Denny Hamlin, Elliott Sadler, and Jeff Gordon round the top 5. In the point standings, Kyle Busch now leads Dale Earnhardt Jr. by 253 points. Jeff Burton is in third and trails Earnhardt Jr. by 18 points. Jimmie Johnson moves up to fourth and Carl Edwards drops to fifth.

There is a spread of 100 points between seventh place Greg Biffle and 13th place Kevin Harvick.

Matt Kenseth is in 11th and leads Clint Bowyer (12th) by four points and Kevin Harvick (13th) by six points.

The Sprint Cup goes to Pocono next Sunday. Coverage begins at 1PM on ESPN, MRN, and Sirius.


NOTE: I refused to use Allstate in the name of the race because the service is not allowed in Massachusetts and I do not like to use names of companies that are not offered in Massachusetts. Also should be noted that I refuse to watch auto insurance ads because of the ongoing fight with the Massachusetts Division of Insurance. You can e-mail me at if you have any questions.