Midway through the first half of its second round match against Argentina, the underdog Mexican team seemed to be in control of the game.
Their defense had stifled the South American’s much vaunted attack, and Mexico had created better opportunities to open the scoring.
That all changed when Carlos Tevez scored off a through-ball from Lionel Messi.
Mexico’s goalkeeper, Oscar Perez, met the ball first, though his clearance went straight back to Messi, who lobbed it back towards goal.
Tevez used his head to complete the finish, though he was clearly in an offside position.
The assistant referee was obviously deceived by the presence of two Mexican defenders who had run back to try and deal with Messi’s lob.
However, the instant replays shown on the stadium’s big screen clearly proved he had made the wrong decision.
Despite this knowledge, the officials could not change their mind, as use of video evidence is not permitted under FIFA rules.