FIFA World Cup 2010: Group Stage Awards

BLOEMFONTEIN, SOUTH AFRICA - JUNE 25:  The official Jabulani matchball ahead of the 2010 FIFA World Cup South Africa Group H match between Switzerland and Honduras at the Free State Stadium on June 25, 2010 in Mangaung, Bloemfontein, South Africa.  (Photo by David Cannon/Getty Images)
David Cannon/Getty Images
Eugene FogartyContributor IJune 27, 2010

Best Game: Slovakia 3-2 Italy

Best Player: Lionel Messi (Argentina)

Honourable Mention: Diego Forlan (Uruguay)

Best Goal: 1. Fabio Quagliarella (ITALY v Slovakia)

Best Team: Argentina

Best XI:
GK Diego Benaglio (Switzerland)
Fabio Coentrao (Portugal), Lucio (Brazil), Diego Lugano (Uruguay), Phillip Lahm (Germany),
Mesut Ozil (Germany), Keisuke Honda (Japan), Alexis Sanchez (Chile)
Leo Messi (Argentina), Diego Forlan (Uruguay), David Villa (Spain).

Worst Game: Slovenia 1-0 Algeria

Worst Miss: Ayegbeni Yakubu (NIGERIA v South Korea)

Worst Team: Algeria

Worst Refereeing Performance: Khalil Al Ghamdi (Chile v Switzerland)

Award for Diving Offences (team): SLOVAKIA v Italy

Award for Diving Offences (player): Kader Keita (IVORY COAST v Brazil)

Biggest Disappointment (team): 1. Serbia

Biggest Disappointment (player): Yoann Gourcuff

Biggest Disappointment XI:

Hugo Lloris (France),
Jonas Guttierez (Argentina), Nemanja Vidic (Serbia), Martin Demichelis (Argentina),
Felipe Melo (Brazil), Riccardo Montolivo (Italy), Stephen Pienaar (South Africa), Yoann Gourcuff (France)
Wayne Rooney (England), Antonio di Natale (Italy), Oscar Cardozo (Paraguay)  

Rising Star: Mesut Ozil

Surprise Package: New Zealand

Best Elimiated XI:
Diego Benaglio (Switzerland),
Stephan Lichsteiner (Switzerland), Ryan Nelson (New Zealand), Simon Kjaer (Denmark),
Gokhan Inler (Switzerland), Valter Birsa (Slovania), Milos Krasic (Serbia), Dennis Rommedahl (Denmark),
Peter Odemwingie (Nigeria), Fabio Quagliarella (Italy), Gervinho (Ivory Coast)

Where can I comment?

Stay on your game

Latest news, insights, and forecasts on your teams across leagues.

Choose Teams
Get it on the App StoreGet it on Google Play

Real-time news for your teams right on your mobile device.

Copyright © 2017 Bleacher Report, Inc. Turner Broadcasting System, Inc. All Rights Reserved. is part of Bleacher Report – Turner Sports Network, part of the Turner Sports and Entertainment Network. Certain photos copyright © 2017 Getty Images. Any commercial use or distribution without the express written consent of Getty Images is strictly prohibited. AdChoices