The Only Five Players with a Shot At Winning the 2010 Heisman Trophy

« Prev
1 of 6
Next »
Use your ← → (arrow) keys to browse the slideshow
The Only Five Players with a Shot At Winning the 2010 Heisman Trophy

Welcome to the era of compartmentalization in college football, the period of the BCS.

The BCS has taken the national contest for pigskin acclaim and reduced it to a one trick pony known as the BCS Champion.

By demonstrating enough voting power to be ranked in the top two of the final poll before the college bowl season, a school can get a shot at being declared the most current BCS Champion.

Winning back to back BCS titles? No team has been able to do so.

Similarly, the quest goes on for a dual Heisman Trophy winner in the BCS era, much less a back to back award recipient.

The overwhelming problem is so much fanfare is put toward winning the Heisman Trophy it can result in a case of which school has the best publicity department.

College alums in front of national media cameras tirelessly promoting "their man" seem to have as much impact on the eventual winner as performance on the field.

Despite all of this, there is no repeat Heisman winner in the age of the BCS.

Have players who won as Sophomores or Juniors gone backward in personal performance, did their teams not reach the perceived level the following season, or was it their school's SID that let them down once a single award was in the bag?

Do we face the reality of a continent where the effort of all great players are to be ignored if they fail to reach the Holy Grail of qualifying for one of the selected seats on various televised award shows in each December?

Accordingly, the Heisman Trophy award has made media stars of the most mundane players who are merely standouts on the top teams along with winners who are spectacular players of unlimited ability.

This has led to a frenzy of writers and fans who feel their season was a disappointment because their team did not win the BCS title or produce the Heisman Trophy winner..

All or nothing. A sad commentary on the state of college football, if not society in general.

Perhaps we should stop and look at the entire history of the Heisman award to get a more complete view of the pre-BCS attempts to win twice.

In the 75 years of the Trophy there has been exactly one repeat winner and that was 35 years ago.

These historic facts reveal we can dismiss last year's winner, Mark Ingram of Alabama, out of hand as a potential Heisman Trophy winner in 2010.

So, which five men will compete for the 2010 award before one is proclaimed the winner on a cold December night in New York City?

The following is a journey into the answer of that mystery with the a profile of the top candidates for this season's Heisman Trophy.

Begin Slideshow »

Follow B/R on Facebook

College Football

Subscribe Now

By signing up for our newsletter, you agree to our Terms and Privacy Policy.

Thanks for signing up.