Uruguay substitute Nicolas Lodeiro is sent off after receiving two yellow cards.
Was the referee right?
The young Uruguayan midfielder picked up his first yellow card almost immediately after coming on as a substitute in the 73rd minute of his team’s game against France.
After giving away a free-kick, the 21-year-old kicked the ball away and was booked for time wasting.
This was a correct decision by Japanese referee Yuici Nishimura, as a yellow card in these circumstances is standard procedure.
Players are well aware of this rule and with France pushing for a goal that would have broken the deadlock, Lodeiro should not have expected any leniency with little over 15 minutes of the match remaining.
Lodeiro’s second booking came after a dangerous studs-up tackle that caught French defender Bacary Sagna on the foot.
A second yellow card was definitely warranted, and if Lodeiro had not been previously booked, Nishimura might have shown him a straight red.
The referee was right to send off Lodeiro. The player seemed to agree by walking straight off the pitch with his head in the hands.