Dynasty Decade: Six Teams Who Could Own the Next Decade

« Prev
1 of 7
Next »
Use your ← → (arrow) keys to browse the slideshow
Dynasty Decade: Six Teams Who Could Own the Next Decade

Throughout the history of the NFL, there have been teams that have dominated each decade, winning three or more Super Bowls in short time spans.

They stand atop the mountain of Super Bowl winners, mythical in status. They make their fans proud, put pride into their cities. They bring home Lombardis, hands covered in rings. They are the dynasties.

Before I begin my countdown, here is a brief history of the five predecessors.

The First Dynasty (1960s): The '60s brought change to the NFL, as the merger of the AFL and NFL brought about the Super Bowl era. Leading the charge into this new era were the Green Bay Packers.

They opened up the Big Dance twice and brought home the prize. While as I said previously that a dynasty wins three or more Super Bowls in a decade, this team is the only exception. This is because the Super Bowl didn't come along until the end of the '60s.

Before they won Super Bowl I and II, the Packers won the NFL championship game in 1961, 1962, and 1965 before the Super Bowl was introduced.

The Steel Curtain (1970s): Everyone knows this name. The Pittsburgh Steelers dominated the '70s, ripping away four Lombardis in a six-year span (IX, X, XIII, XIV).

The NFL had to make rule changes just to combat the Steel Curtain (This is where the five-yard bump rule originates).

This defense was feared and planted the roots for the tough swagger the team has played with since.

The Gold Rush (1980s): The '80s brought about the greatest quarterback and receiver to ever play the game. They both just so happened to be 49ers.

This famous duo broke records and lead San Francisco to five Super Bowls, four of them within the span of a decade (XVI, XIX, XXIII, XXIV). The last one coming in the mid-'90s in Super Bowl XXIX.

The "Joe Cool" dynasty stands alone with five rings. But how long will that last?

America's Team (1990s): The Dallas Cowboys captured the spirit of America for a decade. In a four-year span they won three Super Bowls (XXVII, XXVIII, XXX) and contributed to the Buffalo Bill's nightmare Super Bowl runs.

This team was dominant and they too had a legendary quarterback and receiver in Troy Aikman and Michael Irvin.

The Dallas Cowboys still maintain a swagger about them, and they can thank this dynasty for that.

The Reigning Dynasty (2000s): The Patriots opened up the last decade as a major underdog. Some called them a laughing stock, but after their win against "The Greatest Show on Turf" in Super Bowl XXXVI, Tom Brady never looked back.

He lead them to two more Super Bowls (XXXVIII and XXXIX) and the legendary undefeated '07 season in which lead to the eventual Super Bowl loss to the Giants.

Now that's over, let's look into my crystal ball and see who owns the next decade! (Sorry for the long intro!)

Begin Slideshow »

Follow B/R on Facebook

Team StreamTM


Subscribe Now

By signing up for our newsletter, you agree to our Terms and Privacy Policy.

Thanks for signing up.