Longhorns and Colt win this year in 2008

Michael GonzalezCorrespondent IJuly 23, 2008

AUSTIN, Texas -- Texas junior QB Colt McCoy has been named to the 2008 Davey O'Brien Award watch list, the Davey O'Brien Foundation has announced. The O'Brien Award is presented annually to the nation's best college quarterback.

McCoy was a semifinalist for the award in 2006 and is a member of the watch list for the second straight year. Two Longhorns have won the honor in its history, including Vince Young in 2005, and Earl Campbell in its first year in 1977, when it honored the top player in the Southwest.

A member of the 2008 Maxwell Award watch list, McCoy is 20-6 in 26 career starts. His 20 victories are already tied for eight Th-most in UT history. He has completed 493-of-742 passes (66.4%) for 5,873 yards (No. 6 on UT's all-time list) and 51 TDs (No. 4 on UT's all-time list) against 25 IN Ts for a passer rating of 148.9 during his career. The 148.9 passer rating andthe 66.4 completion percentage are the best of any UT quarterback with  Th at least 700 attempts.

In 2007, McCoy started all 13 games and completed 276-of-424 passes (65.1%) for 3,303 yards (No. 2 on UT's single-season list) aand 22 TDs (T-No. 4 on UT's single-season list) for a passer rating of 139.2 (24 Th NCAA). The 276 completions rank first on UT's single-season list andthe 424 attempts rank Second. He led the Longhorns to a nation-leading seventh-straight season of 10-plus wins aandcapped the year with Holiday Bowl Offensive MVP honors.

Watch List candidates were selected by a subset of the National Selection Committee and approved by the Davey O'Brien Executive Committee. Semifinalists will be announced October 27 and finalists November 24. The prestigious award focuses on accomplishments both on and off the field. The selection committee is asked to evaluate all candidates on their quarterback skills and athletic ability, academics, reputation as a team player, character, leadership and sportsmanship.

The 2008 winner will be announced during The Home Depot College Football Awards Show on ESPN on December 11. The recipient will be honored February 16, 2009, at the 32nd Annual O'Brien Awards Dinner at The Fort Worth Club in Fort Worth, Texas.

The O'Brien honors the nation's best college quarterback of the year and inspires student-athletes to triumph both on and off the field. By recognizing and honoring athletes who excel in both sports and academics while exhibiting strong character and leadership, The O'Brien aims to help instill a lifelong moral fiber in each candidate. The O'Brien is overseen by the Davey O'Brien Foundation, which was founded in 1977 and is headquartered in Fort Worth, Texas. The Foundation has given away over $750,000 in scholarships and university grants to help high school and college athletes transform leadership on the field into leadership in life. For more information, visit Davey O' Brien.org