2010 FIFA World Cup: England Confirm Squad Numbers

Paul AustinCorrespondent IJune 3, 2010

RUSTENBURG, SOUTH AFRICA - JUNE 03: Jamie Carragher (L) and David Beckham of England arrive at the Royal Bafokeng Sports Campus on June 3, 2010 in Rustenburg, South Africa.  (Photo by Michael Regan - Pool/The FA via Getty Images)
Pool/Getty Images

Whilst squad numbers can sometimes be deceptive, they are also frequently a hint to the managers thinking, and plans for the season, or at international level, for the tournament ahead.

With that in mind, here are the squad numbers for the England team, for the 2010 World Cup.

1. David James
2. Glen Johnson
3. Ashley Cole
4. Steven Gerrard
5. Rio Ferdinand (C)
6. John Terry
7. Aaron Lennon
8. Frank Lampard
9. Peter Crouch
10. Wayne Rooney
11. Joe Cole
12. Robert Green
13. Stephen Warnock
14. Gareth Barry
15. Matthew Upson
16. James Milner
17. Shaun Wright-Phillips
18. Jamie Carragher
19. Jermain Defoe
20. Ledley King
21. Emile Heskey
22. Michael Carrick
23. Joe Hart


I think most of the One to 11 are as expected, but fans will be interested to see that David James has been handed the number one jersey, and that Joe Cole is going to be wearing the number 11.

Now, we have to wait and see if this mirrors Capello's starting line up, or whether he's playing mind games.

What do others think?