Top 10 NFL Rookie Seasons of All-Time

« Prev
1 of 11
Next »
Use your ← → (arrow) keys to browse the slideshow
Top 10 NFL Rookie Seasons of All-Time

Since 1967, the Associated Press has given two annual Rookie of the Year Awards to NFL American football players: one for an offensive player and one for a defensive player.

These two are often regarded as the "official" awards.

Thirteen players who have won the Rookie of the Year Award are in the Pro Football Hall of Fame.

Offense: Franco Harris, Tony Dorsett, Earl Campbell, Marcus Allen, Eric Dickerson, Barry Sanders, and Emmitt Smith.

Defense: Lem Barney, Joe Greene, Jack Lambert, Mike Haynes, Lawrence Taylor, and Derrick Thomas.

The Linebackers have won half of the Defensive Rookie of the Year Awards (21 out of 42)

The Running backs have won 30 out of 43 Offensive Rookie of the Year Awards, or 70 percent.

The Philadelphia Eagles, Jacksonville Jaguars, and the Seattle Seahawks are the only franchises to never have a player win either award.

Begin Slideshow »

Follow B/R on Facebook


Subscribe Now

By signing up for our newsletter, you agree to our Terms and Privacy Policy.

Thanks for signing up.