Predictions: 2010 NHL Awards

« Prev
1 of 11
Next »
Use your ← → (arrow) keys to browse the slideshow
Predictions: 2010 NHL Awards

The NHL has had an exciting season, culminating with a gala award ceremony in Las Vegas, Nevada on June 23.

The NHL smartly moved the awards ceremony to Las Vegas to further promote the game of hockey in the USA in one of its most visible and glamorous cities.
In this case what happens in Vegas will be heard all over the hockey world.

When the biggest stars in the NHL get together in June, the league will announce who is the 2010 winner of the The Hart, The Calder, The Selke, The Lady Byng, The Norris, The Lindsay, and The Jack Adams trophies among others.

The league will also recognize the winners of The Art Ross, The Rocket Richard, and The William Jennings Award. Henrik Sedin, Sidney Crosby, Steven Stamkos, and Martin Broduer will be on hand to receive the hardware.

Hockey writers and the NHLPA will vote for who will be the recipients of the legendary awards.

The Ted Lindsay Trophy will go to the Most Valuable Player as judged by the players.

The NHL has shown superb marketing insight naming the trophy after the popular Lindsay.

He was a star performer and perennial Stanley Cup participant, Art Ross recipient and the architect of the very first players' union.

It is not often players such as Lindsay receive such accolades before they pass away, as Maurice Richard did soon after the naming of the Rocket Richard Trophy given to the NHL's top goal scorer.

A few times in past years, the players have selected a different trophy recipient than the hockey writers who determine the Hart winner. With the name change, the Ted Lindsay Trophy becomes a much more important award.

In addition, the Art Ross and Rocket Richard winners have already been determined and those awards will be handed over to their respective winners at the Las Vegas gala.

Unlike in previous years when Alex Ovechkin, Crosby and Nicklas Lindstrom were all but assured to receive Hart consideration and the Norris.

This year the selection process could prove far more interesting.

Several players such as Henrik Sedin of Vancouver and Drew Doughty of Los Angeles have surprised beat writers all season with their excellent performance game in and game out.

This ceremony will debut another new award, The Messier leadership award (named after Hall of Fame forward Mark Messier) which is given to the NHL Captain displaying the most leadership skills.

Messier participated in several Stanley Cup wins with Edmonton and New York, guiding the New York Rangers to their first cup in 54 years.

Here are the players who should be the award recipients in June:

Begin Slideshow »

Follow B/R on Facebook


Subscribe Now

By signing up for our newsletter, you agree to our Terms and Privacy Policy.

Thanks for signing up.