Denny Hamlin Wins Samsung Mobile 500 @ Texas

Dustin H.Contributor IApril 19, 2010

FORT WORTH, TX - APRIL 19:  Denny Hamlin, driver of the #11 FedEx Ground Toyota, crosses the start/finish line to take the checkered flag and win the NASCAR Sprint Cup Series Samsung Mobile 500 at Texas Motor Speedway on April 19, 2010 in Fort Worth, Texas.  (Photo by Chris Graythen/Getty Images)
Chris Graythen/Getty Images

Denny Hamlin took the victory on Monday in the Samsung Mobile 500 @ Texas Motor Speedway in Fort Worth, Texas. Hamlin held off a hard charging Jimmie Johnson who finished second and was really closing on Hamlin but ran out of time in the end. Hamlin scored his second victory of 2010 winning three weeks ago on Monday at Martinsville. Hamlin who had surgery on his knee for a torn acl just 19 days ago finished 30th at Phoenix and rebounded big in Texas with a win in the #11 Fed Ex Toyota for Joe Gibbs Racing. A big crash with less than 20 laps to go took out race winning contenders such as the polesitter Tony Stewart, and Jeff Gordon who both lead alot of laps Monday to come up short. Jeff Burton and Dale Earnhardt Jr started out front on the final restart but Jeff Burton caught the wall and Dale Jr just could'nt hold the rest of the field off.

Dissappointing day for Brian Vickers who cut a tire twice ending his day early and David Reuitmann who was running the top 5 at the end of the race blew a engine. The big crash at the end of the race also collected Joey Logano Paul Menard, Carl Edwards, Juan Pablo Montoya and Clint Bowyer along with Jeff Gordon and Tony Stewart ending great days for all these drivers.

Nascar heads off to Talladega Superspeedway in Alabama next weekend for restrictor plate high speed racing we will see three, four and even five wide racing and the potentional for a huge crash goes through the roof as it always seems to happen at Talladega. Brad Keselowski is the defending winner of that race and Jimmie Johnson will take a 108 point lead into Talladega over Matt Kenseth.

Samsung Mobile 500 Results From Texas Motor Speedway

1.Denny Hamlin

2.Jimmie Johnson

3.Kyle Busch

4.Kurt Busch

5.Kasey Kahne

6.Mark Martin

7.Kevin Harvick

8.Dale Earnhardt Jr

9.Martin Truex Jr

10.Greg Biffle

11.Ryan Newman

12.Jeff Burton

Nascar Sprint Cup Point Standings After Texas

1.Jimmie Johnson Leader

2.Matt Kenseth -108

3.Greg Biffle -128

4.Kevin Harvick -141

5.Jeff Gordon -220

The Nascar Nationwide Series race was rained out Saturday and Sunday and they will race this evening at 5pm ET on ESPN2 in the O'Reilly Auto Parts 300 From Texas as Kyle Busch is going for five wins in a row in the Nationwide Series race at Texas.