Breaking NewsDownload App

Will Power Takes IndyCar Pole For Long Beach

LONG BEACH - APRIL 17:  Will Power, driver of the #12 Verizon Team Penske Dallara Honda, drives during qualifying for the IndyCar Series Toyota Grand Prix of Long Beach on April 17, 2010 in Long Beach, California. (Photo by Donald Miralle/Getty Images)
Donald Miralle/Getty Images
Dustin H.Contributor IApril 18, 2010

Will Power has been the man to beat for most of the 2010 season in the IZOD IndyCar Series leading almost every practice session this season and he made history Saturday scoring three straight poles this season at St Pete, Barber and Long Beach. Power grabbed the Peak Pole Award in knockout qualifying in the Fast Six on Saturday on the Streets Of Long Beach. Power's fastest lap of 1:09.3185 @ 102.206 mph was good enough to take pole ahead of Andretti Autosport driver Ryan Hunter Reay. Justin Wilson had a strong qualifying run in third followed by Helio Castroneves last week's winner in Barber and Ryan Briscoe in fifth. Here is the starting lineup for Sunday's Toyota Grand Prix Of Long Beach as Will Power is atop the points coming into this event with Kansas in two weeks and then the busy month of May at Indy.


1.Will Power Team Penske Verizon #12 Car "3rd Straight Pole Of 2010"

2.Ryan Hunter Reay Andretti Autosport

3.Justin Wilson

4.Helio Castroneves

5.Ryan Briscoe

6.Tony Kanaan

7.Alex Tagliani

8.Scott Dixon

9.Marco Andretti

10.Dan Wheldon

Danica Patrick qualified in 20th, Mike Conway who qualified in second last week at Barber is 16th this week. Simona De Silvestro qualified in 13th and Milka Duno qualified 25th that rounds out the three women who qualified for this weekend's Toyota Grand Prix Of Long Beach.

Paul Tracy announced Saturday he will run the Indianapolis 500 with Gieco and KV Racing

Jimmy Vassar won the Celebrity Sports Car Race at Long Beach Saturday.

Where can I comment?

Stay on your game

Latest news, insights, and forecasts on your teams across leagues.

Choose Teams
Get it on the App StoreGet it on Google Play

Real-time news for your teams right on your mobile device.

Copyright © 2017 Bleacher Report, Inc. Turner Broadcasting System, Inc. All Rights Reserved. is part of Bleacher Report – Turner Sports Network, part of the Turner Sports and Entertainment Network. Certain photos copyright © 2017 Getty Images. Any commercial use or distribution without the express written consent of Getty Images is strictly prohibited. AdChoices