Sun Belt Football logoSun Belt Football

Sun Belt Gets Another Bowl Tie-In

Edward GaunaContributor IApril 13, 2010


The Sun Belt Conference added another bowl tie-in on Monday when the Little Caesars Pizza Bowl announced that a Sun Belt team will play in the game if the Big Ten does not have enough teams qualify. This now makes three bowls that Sun Belt teams can vie for each season.

The Sun Belt already has the New Orleans Bowl and the GMAC Bowl to send its Nos. 1 or 2 teams provided the conference has two bowl eligible teams.

This move will now add more national exposure for the small-school conference.

Four teams from the Sun Belt have won a bowl game since 2001; North Texas in 2002, Troy in 2006, FAU in 2007 and 2008, and Middle Tennessee in 2009. FAU is the only school to win a bowl that wasn't the New Orleans Bowl (2008 Motor City Bowl).

The Sun Belt has a 5-8 record overall in bowl games and have had at least three teams bowl-eligible the past four years.

The Little Ceasars Pizza Bowl, formerly the Motor City Bowl, calls for the No. 8 bowl-eligible Big Ten team to face the No. 1 or No. 2 MAC team at Detroit's Ford Field for the December game.

The game last year featured Marshall and Ohio University with Marshall winning 21-17.

Where can I comment?

Stay on your game

Latest news, insights, and forecasts on your teams across leagues.

Choose Teams
Get it on the App StoreGet it on Google Play

Real-time news for your teams right on your mobile device.

Copyright © 2017 Bleacher Report, Inc. Turner Broadcasting System, Inc. All Rights Reserved. is part of Bleacher Report – Turner Sports Network, part of the Turner Sports and Entertainment Network. Certain photos copyright © 2017 Getty Images. Any commercial use or distribution without the express written consent of Getty Images is strictly prohibited. AdChoices