UCLA Basketball: Bruins Release 2008-09 Schedule

Use your ← → (arrow) keys to browse more stories
UCLA Basketball: Bruins Release 2008-09 Schedule

UCLA’s 2008-09 men’s basketball schedule is highlighted by several key non-conference contests.

These include the 2008 2K Sports Classic benefiting Coaches vs. Cancer, which culminates in Madison Square Garden; a trip to Austin, Texas, to face the Texas Longhorns in the Pac-10/Big 12 Series (Dec. 4); hosting Wyoming (Dec. 23) and hosting Notre Dame in the Bruins’ final non-conference game of the season (Feb. 7).

The field for the 16-team 2K Sports Classic (Nov. 12-13 and Nov. 20-21) has not been announced. Four teams (one of them being UCLA) will host the four-team preliminary rounds on Nov. 10-14 at on-campus sites with the winners advancing to the semifinals at Madison Square Garden in New York, on Nov. 20 and the finals on Nov. 21.

The Bruins will also play in the 15th annual Wooden Classic on Dec. 13 at the Honda Center in Anaheim against DePaul. This will be UCLA’s sixth consecutive Wooden Classic appearance and 12th overall (8-3 in prior contests). Last year, the Bruins defeated Davidson 75-63 in the Wooden Classic.

Other non-conference highlights include four home games (Florida International on Nov. 29; Cal State Northridge on Dec. 7; Mercer on Dec. 20 and Louisiana Tech on Dec. 28) in Pauley Pavilion before beginning Pac-10 play.

UCLA, the defending back-to-back-to-back regular season Pac-10 champion, opens defense of its conference crown at Oregon State (Jan. 2). The 2009 Pac-10 Tournament, featuring all 10 teams, will once again be held at the Staples Center in downtown Los Angeles (March 11-14).

In 2007-08, UCLA advanced to its third straight Final Four, finishing the season with a school-record 35 victories. The Bruins won their third consecutive Pac-10 championship with a 16-2 mark.

UCLA (35-4) also won the 2008 Pacific Life Pac-10 Tournament and has won 30 or more games in three straight seasons for the first time in school history.

The schedule is tentative and subject to change due to television. While the dates have been set, the Bruins are still looking for one more home game (Dec. 17) and one exhibition opponent (Nov. 7).

 
Tentative 2008-09 UCLA Men’s Basketball Schedule

DATE                        OPPONENT  Tue., Nov. 4        Humboldt State  Fri., Nov. 7          Exhibition  Wed., Nov. 12     2008 2K Sports Classic (Coaches vs. Cancer) First Round  Thu., Nov. 13      2008 2K Sports Classic (Coaches vs. Cancer) Second Round  Thu., Nov. 20      2008 2K Sports Classic (Coaches vs. Cancer) Semifinals @ Madison Square Garden  Fri., Nov. 21        2008 2K Sports Classic (Coaches vs. Cancer) Final @ Madison Square Garden  Sat., Nov. 29       Florida International  Thu., Dec. 4        @Texas in Pac-10/Big 12 Hardwood Series  Sun., Dec. 7        Cal State Northridge  Dec. 8-12            Finals Week  Sat., Dec. 13       DePaul @ Wooden Classic  Wed., Dec. 17     TBD  Sat., Dec. 20       Mercer  Tue., Dec. 23       Wyoming  Sun., Dec. 28       Louisiana Tech          Fri., Jan. 2           @ Oregon State          Sun., Jan. 4         @ Oregon          Sun., Jan. 11       @ USC  Thu., Jan. 15       Arizona  Sat., Jan. 17        Arizona State          Thu., Jan. 22       @ Washington State          Sat., Jan. 24        @ Washington          Thu., Jan. 29       California          Sat., Jan. 31        Stanford          Wed., Feb. 4       USC  Sat., Feb. 7        Notre Dame  Thu., Feb. 12      @ Arizona State          Sat., Feb. 14       @ Arizona  Thu., Feb. 19      Washington          Sat., Feb. 21       Washington State  Thu., Feb. 26      @ Stanford  Sat., Feb. 28       @ California          Thu., Mar. 5        Oregon State  Sat., Mar. 7         Oregon          Mar. 11 - Mar. 14  Pac-10 Tournament @ Staples Center, Los Angeles  Mar. 19 - Mar. 22  NCAA First and Second Round  Mar. 26 - Mar. 29  NCAA Regional  Apr. 4 & Apr. 6     NCAA Final Four

All times Pacific. All games broadcast on the UCLA/ISP Network (AM 570 KLAC in Los Angeles).

Related posts

Load More Stories

Follow B/R on Facebook

Out of Bounds

Pac-12 Basketball

Subscribe Now

We will never share your email address

Thanks for signing up.