The All-Motorsport Power Rankings: No. 54

« Prev
1 of 17
Next »
Use your ← → (arrow) keys to browse the slideshow
The All-Motorsport Power Rankings: No. 54

As NASCAR and its arguments faded into the background with their first break from competition since Daytona, it was time for the other major series of the world to take to the stage.

F1 started off in Bahrain, and after a winter full of hype (seemingly mostly involving some guy named Schumacher), it delivered one of the most underwhelming races in recent memory. The lack of passing would have been sleep inducing enough, but even that was compounded by the fact it was all done in slow motion—the 2010 cars-come-supertankers barely mustering the strength to lap in under two minutes.

And if F1's opener was a tragedy, then Indycar in Sao Paulo was nearly a comedy.

All weekend, the cars struggled down the concrete straight of the Sambodrome, snaking and wobbling like a trial even for the winter Olympics. The series' officials thought they had solved the problem, grinding the surface through the night to produce more grip. However, they only managed to create a very effective smoke screen for the first corner —with very predictable results.

Then came the rain and the red flag. Any other week it all would have been enough for Indycar to drown under a wave of criticism.

But the F1 race was really, really bad.

The Power Rankings are an occasional feature on Midweek Motorsport on Radio Le Mans. Every Wednesday at 8pm UK time, and this week 4pm Eastern, 1pm Pacific, and on iTunes forever if time differences aren't your thing.

Begin Slideshow »
Load More Stories

Follow B/R on Facebook

Out of Bounds

NASCAR

Subscribe Now

We will never share your email address

Thanks for signing up.