UNC Denied All-ACC Pick for the First Time in League History

Use your ← → (arrow) keys to browse more stories
UNC Denied All-ACC Pick for the First Time in League History
Andy Lyons/Getty Images

Well it came as little of a surprise to the college basketball enthusiast, but the long reign of the University of North Carolina over the all conference team has come to an end.

That's right, with the announcement of the All-ACC team coming on Monday, also came the lack of a UNC player on any of the three teams for the first time since the ACC was founded in 1953.

With UNC's well documented struggles this year, the ACC's three leading scorers—Maryland's Greivis Vasquez, Duke's Jon Scheyer and Virginia Tech's Malcolm Delaney—were all unanimous picks for the team. Rounding out the first team were Clemson's Trevor Booker and Duke's Kyle Singler.

The Second team was led by Wake Forest with two selections: Ish Smith and Al-Farouq Amino. The team also included Duke guard Nolan Smith, Virginia guard Sylven Landesburg, and Tracy Smith of N.C. State.

Rounding out the third team were Gani Lawal of Georgia Tech, Dorenzo Hudson of Virginia Tech, Chris Singleton of Florida State, Joe Trapani of Boston College, and Solomon Alabi of Florida State. 

These teams were compiled from votes by the Atlantic Coast Sports Media Association located in Raleigh, NC. Other individual honors will be announced by the association on Tuesday March 9.

Follow UNC Basketball from B/R on Facebook

Follow UNC Basketball from B/R on Facebook and get the latest updates straight to your newsfeed!

UNC Basketball

Subscribe Now

By signing up for our newsletter, you agree to our Terms and Privacy Policy.

Thanks for signing up.