2008 NHL All-Star Game: Ballot and Picks

Jacob DearloveAnalyst INovember 6, 2007

The ballot for the 2008 NHL All-Star Game has been finalized. This season's game will be held in Atlanta.

I've reproduced the ballot below, and I've made my choices with stars beside the players, with the starters in bold. 

My complete rosters are at the bottom. 





Martin Biron, Philadelphia Flyers*
Martin Brodeur, New Jersey Devils
Rick DiPietro, New York Islanders
Ray Emery, Ottawa Senators
Cristobal Huet, Montreal Canadiens
Olaf Kolzig, Washington Capitals
Henrik Lundqvist, New York Rangers*
Ryan Miller, Buffalo Sabres
Tomas Vokoun, Florida Panthers
Cam Ward, Carolina Hurricanes*


Jay Bouwmeester, Florida Panthers
Dan Boyle, Tampa Bay Lightning
Brian Campbell, Buffalo Sabres*
Zdeno Chara, Boston Bruins
Tomas Kaberle, Toronto Maple Leafs*
Andrei Markov, Montreal Canadiens*
Bryan McCabe, Toronto Maple Leafs
Chris Phillips, Ottawa Senators*
Wade Redden, Ottawa Senators*
Henrik Tallinder, Buffalo Sabres
Kimmo Timonen, Philadelphia Flyers
Ryan Whitney, Pittsburgh Penguins*


Maxim Afinogenov, Buffalo Sabres
Daniel Alfredsson, Ottawa Senators*
Jason Blake, Toronto Maple Leafs*
Daniel Briere, Philadelphia Flyers*
Sidney Crosby, Pittsburgh Penguins*
Chris Drury, New York Rangers
Patrik Elias, New Jersey Devils
Simon Gagne, Philadelphia Flyers
Brian Gionta, New Jersey Devils
Scott Gomez, New York Rangers
Bill Guerin, New York Islanders
Dany Heatley, Ottawa Senators*
Marian Hossa, Atlanta Thrashers
Jaromir Jagr, New York Rangers
Olli Jokinen, Florida Panthers
Saku Koivu, Montreal Canadiens*
Ilya Kovalchuk, Atlanta Thrashers*
Slava Kozlov, Atlanta Thrashers
Vincent Lecavalier, Tampa Bay Lightning*
Evgeni Malkin, Pittsburgh Penguins*
Alex Ovechkin, Washington Capitals*
Brad Richards, Tampa Bay Lightning
Martin St. Louis, Tampa Bay Lightning
Marc Savard, Boston Bruins
Brendan Shanahan, New York Rangers
Jason Spezza, Ottawa Senators*
Eric Staal, Carolina Hurricanes*
Mats Sundin, Toronto Maple Leafs*
Thomas Vanek, Buffalo Sabres
Justin Williams, Carolina Hurricanes



Niklas Backstrom, Minnesota Wild*
J.S. Giguere, Anaheim Ducks
Dominik Hasek, Detroit Red Wings
Nikolai Khabibulin, Chicago Blackhawks
Miikka Kiprusoff, Calgary Flames*
Pascal Leclaire, Columbus Blue Jackets*
Roberto Luongo, Vancouver Canucks
Evgeni Nabokov, San Jose Sharks
Marty Turco, Dallas Stars


Francois Beauchemin, Anaheim Ducks
Rob Blake, Los Angeles Kings
Scott Hannan, Colorado Avalanche*
Ed Jovanovski, Phoenix Coyotes
Nicklas Lidstrom, Detroit Red Wings*
Mattias Ohlund, Vancouver Canucks
Dion Phaneuf, Calgary Flames*
Chris Pronger, Anaheim Ducks*
Brian Rafalski, Detroit Red Wings*
Robyn Regehr, Calgary Flames
Sheldon Souray, Edmonton Oilers
Lubomir Visnovsky, Los Angeles Kings
Sergei Zubov, Dallas Stars*


Jason Arnott, Nashville Predators*
Mike Cammalleri, Los Angeles Kings*
Jonathan Cheechoo, San Jose Sharks
Pavel Datsyuk, Detroit Red Wings*
Shane Doan, Phoenix Coyotes
Marian Gaborik, Minnesota Wild
Ryan Getzlaf, Anaheim Ducks*
Martin Havlat, Chicago Blackhawks
Milan Hejduk, Colorado Avalanche
Ales Hemsky, Edmonton Oilers
Jarome Iginla, Calgary Flames*
Paul Kariya, St. Louis Blues
Anze Kopitar, Los Angeles Kings*
Daymond Langkow, Calgary Flames*
David Legwand, Nashville Predators
Patrick Marleau, San Jose Sharks
Andy McDonald, Anaheim Ducks
Mike Modano, Dallas Stars
Brenden Morrow, Dallas Stars
Rick Nash, Columbus Blue Jackets*
Markus Naslund, Vancouver Canucks
Brian Rolston, Minnesota Wild
Joe Sakic, Colorado Avalanche*
Daniel Sedin, Vancouver Canucks*
Henrik Sedin, Vancouver Canucks
Ryan Smyth, Colorado Avalanche
Paul Stastny, Colorado Avalanche*
Joe Thornton, San Jose Sharks*
Keith Tkachuk, St. Louis Blues
Henrik Zetterberg, Detroit Red Wings*

Jake's Picks

Eastern Conference Team 

Goalies: Martin Biron, Henrik Lundqvist, Cam Ward

Defensemen: Brian Campbell, Tomas Kaberle, Ryan Whitney, Andrei Markov, Chris Phillips, Wade Redden

Forwards: Ilya Kovalchuk, Alex Ovechkin, Daniel Briere, Sidney Crosby, Evgeni Malkin, Mats Sundin, Dany Heatley, Jason Spezza, Daniel Alfredsson, Jason Blake, Saku Koivu, Vincent Lecavalier, Eric Staal


Western Conference Team

Goalies: Niklas Backstrom, Miikka Kiprusoff, Pascal Leclaire

Defensemen: Brian Rafalski, Dion Phaneuf, Nicklas Lidstrom, Chris Pronger, Scott Hannan, Sergei Zubov

Forwards: Jason Arnott, Mike Cammalleri, Pavel Datsyuk, Ryan Getzlaf, Jarome Iginla, Anze Kopitar, Daymond Langkow, Rick Nash, Joe Sakic, Daniel Sedin, Paul Stastny, Joe Thornton, Henrik Zetterberg

These are my choices—feel free to put yours in the comments section.

Where can I comment?

Stay on your game

Latest news, insights, and forecasts on your teams across leagues.

Choose Teams
Get it on the App StoreGet it on Google Play

Real-time news for your teams right on your mobile device.

Copyright © 2017 Bleacher Report, Inc. Turner Broadcasting System, Inc. All Rights Reserved. BleacherReport.com is part of Bleacher Report – Turner Sports Network, part of the Turner Sports and Entertainment Network. Certain photos copyright © 2017 Getty Images. Any commercial use or distribution without the express written consent of Getty Images is strictly prohibited. AdChoices